Skip to main content

Music

Subject and Research Guide

Quick Links

Print and Electronic Books

Electronic Books

Finding E-Books

The easiest way to locate e-books available to the University of Chicago Library is using the Library Catalog. The Catalog provides access to the Library's subscription e-books, as well as e-books available from Google Book Search and the Hathi Trust.  If a book is available online, a link or icon will appear in the record.  Please note that our subscription e-books may require you to log in with your CNetID.

Search for E-Books Using the Library Catalog.

 

 

To initiate your search in the Library Catalog, enter your keywords in the search box. When the search results window opens, select E-Resource under Format.  If this does not appear, click on "more" to see additional formats.

See also the Library's guide to How do I find e-books?

 

Library E-Book Readers

ebrary: Example Click on "Info" in the upper left corner for help in navigating the e-book.

NetLibrary: Example  Viewed through EBSCOHost; click on "eBook FULL TEXT" in left column to view entire source.

Google Book Search

The Google Book Search is a project that will eventually scan millions of books from the collections of major research libraries.

Google Book Search provides full-text of out of copyright books (generally, books published before 1930) and "snippets" of books in copyright. You can limit your search to full-text only or search the complete collection.

Search Google Books - Basic

Search Google Books - Advanced

Subject Specialist

Scott Landvatter's picture
Scott Landvatter
Contact:
Bibliographer for Music and Dance
Room 362 Regenstein Library
Phone: 1-773-702-8447
Subjects:Music

Off-campus Access

Almost all Library databases can be accessed from off-campus. The easiest way to do this is to use links from the main Library website or this and other Subject Guides. You will then be prompted for your CNetID and password to authenticate yourself as an authorized user.

If you find sources through Google Scholar or other search engines, you may not automatically get access to Library resources. IT Services has created the ProxyIt bookmarklet for these situations.

Find out more on their website

Find It!

When searching databases, the Find It button, when present, can be used to locate an item in the Library Catalog, to gain access to the full-text of an article, or to send interlibrary loan orders to the ILL Office for items that the Library does not own.

Purchase Requests

The Library welcomes suggestions for the acquisition of materials which support the University's teaching and research programs. For these suggestions and requests email the Music Bibliographer.  You can also submit a request by using this form.