Music

Specialized Music Collections

Regenstein Library possesses a significant research collection for the study of western Christian liturgical chant. At the core of this collection are microfilms of some 250 medieval chant manuscripts, most of them from France or Italy. The bulk of this material was acquired for the library by Professor Anne Walters Robertson of the Music Department by means of a university grant.

The following bibliographic sources are cited in short form in the entries below:

• Walter Howard Frere, ed.,  Bibliotheca musico-liturgica.  A descriptive handlist of the musical and Latin-liturgical MSS. of the Middle Ages preserved in the libraries of Great Britain and Ireland (Hildesheim, 1967)

• Le graduel romain (Solesmes, 1957)

• Renato-Johanne Hesbert, ed., Corpus antiphonalium officii (Rome, 1963)

• Helma Hofmann-Brandt, Die Tropen zu den Responsorien der Officiums (Erlangen, 1971)

• Heinrich Husman, Die Tropen- und Sequenzenhandschriften (Munich, 1964)

• Victor Leroquais, Les Bréviaires manuscrits des bibliothèques publique de France (Paris, 1934)

• Alejandro Planchart, The Repertory of Tropes at Winchester (Princeton, N.J., 1977)

Index: this list is in order according to the city and library in which the manuscripts are found today.
 

James H. Moore, professor in the Music Department at the University of Chicago from 1976 to 1984, was one of the leading scholars researching seventeenth-century Venetian sacred music. After Professor Moore's premature death in 1984, his parents presented his papers and scholarly research materials to the University of Chicago Library. These included a major collection of primary and secondary sources on microfilm. The microfilms are not yet catalogued, but a handlist of their contents is available from this website. They are available in the Microform Reading Room on the third floor of Regenstein Library.

The microfilm research materials fall into the following categories:

• Printed editions of music by individual 17th-century composers
• Printed anthologies of 17th-century music
• Printed and manuscript 17th-century liturgical books and historical records (with minimal or no musical notation)
• Manuscripts of 17th-century music
• Dissertations on Renaissance and Baroque Music
• Miscellaneous

Microfilms from the University of Chicago Music Collection

Finding Aid

Note: This eclectic collection of microfilms was acquired for classroom use. The accompanying finding aid will provide users with access to the collection until it is fully cataloged. The inventory is organized according to the numbering system in Einzeldrücke vor 1800, RISM Series A I, or, where relevant, Recueils imprimés, XVIe-XVIIe siècles, RISM Series B I. Clicking on the links of the index below will take you to the entry for the reel in the microfilms list following the index. If the RISM number you are seeking is not immediately visible in your browser window, simply scroll down through the items on the reel until you come to the item you want. Some microfilms contain as many as nine items.

Copy indications can refer to duplicate films of the same source or to films of different copies in different libraries of the same RISM number.

These microfilms are available in the Microform Reading Room on the third floor of Regenstein Library.

Index

Collections
RISM 1537¹ // RISM 1538⁶ // RISM 1539⁹ // RISM1542⁶ // RISM 1554²⁴ // RISM 1555²⁰ // RISM 1555²¹ // RISM 1558¹⁰ // RISM 1559⁷ //RISM 1596⁸ // RISM 1599¹ // RISM 1601⁴ // RISM 1604¹⁰ // RISM 1605⁵ // RISM 1632⁵ // RISM D-Stuttg // RISM GB-Lob // RISM I-Pc17 // RISM [none] Livre septieme 1622 // RISM [none] 4° Mus. 43 c.1 // RISM [none] 4° Mus. 43 c.2 // RISM [none] 4° Mus. 118 c.1 // RISM [none] 4° Mus. 118 c.2 // RISM [none] 4° 142

Bennett, William Sterndale, Sir,
RISM [none]

Döhler, Théodore
RISM [none]

Field, John
RISM [none]

Hartknoch, Karl Eduard
RISM [none]

Herz, Henri
RISM [none]

Hummel, Johann Nepomuk
RISM [none]

Kalkbrenner, Friedrich Wilhelm Michael
RISM [none] work 1 // RISM [none] work 2 // RISM [none] work 3

Kufferath, Hubert-Ferdinand
RISM [none]

La Grotte, Nicolas de
RISM L0245

Lasekk, Charles
RISM [none]

Latre, Claude Petit Jean de [Iehan de]
RISM L1060 // RISM L1061

Le Jeune, Claude
RISM L1672 // RISM L1674 c. 1 // RISM L1674 c.2 // RISM L1675 // RISM L1676 c.1 // RISM L1676 c.2 // RISM L1676 c.3 // RISM L1676 c.4 // RISM L1677 // RISM L1679 // RISM L1700 c.1 // RISM L1700 c.2

Mayer, Charles
RISM [none]

Monte, Philippe de
RISM M3331 c.1 // RISM M3331 c.2

Moscheles, Johann Peter
RISM [none] work 1 // RISM [none] work 2 // RISM [none] work 3 // RISM [none] work 4 // RISM [none] work 5

Pixis, Johann Peter
RISM [none]

Ries, Ferdinand
RISM [none] work 1 // RISM [none] work 2 //RISM [none] work 3

Taubert, Wilhelm
RISM [none]

Thalberg, Sigismond
RISM [none]