Welcome to the Library
The University of Chicago Library welcomes visitors and researchers. This guide provides an overview our our library collections and services to help you prepare for your visit.
Directions and Hours
- Visit UChicagoBefore your trip to campus, learn more about public transportation and parking, view campus maps, find local accomodations, and more.
- Library HoursWe strongly encourage you to check Library hours before your visit. Some collections may not be available on certain days or times.
Getting a Visitor Pass
You may get a visitor pass to the University of Chicago Library by checking in at Regenstein Library's entry desk. Visitors who wish to use the University’s wireless network or Library computers, or those who wish to obtain a Library access card to visit for more than a few days, should bring a current, government-issued photo ID.
Special Collections Appointments
Researchers planning to use the Hanna Holborn Gray Special Collections Research Center need to schedule an appointment before visiting.
- Reading Room AccessSchedule a time to visit the Special Collections Research Center.
- Special Collections Access InformationPolicies, tips, and guidelines for visiting the Special Collections Research Center.
- Contact Special CollectionsContact staff in the Special Collections Research Center directly for questions about making an appointments or using their collections.
Research Assistance
Researchers who would like assistance using our library offerings during their visit are encouraged to reach out to our librarians in advance. UChicago librarians can help you plan your visit, confirm availability of specific collections, and provide guidance on making the most of your time at the Library.
- Ask a LibrarianUniversity of Chicago Librarians are happy to help you find the best search tools and databases for your field of study.
- Schedule an AppointmentSchedule a time to meet with a librarian to prepare for using our collections and resources.
