Library Guides: Text and Data Mining: Primary Source Collections

Gale (Including the Economist Historical Archive)

Gale Digital Scholar Lab This link opens in a new window
Users must create an account by clicking on "Log In / Create Account" and signing into Google or Microsoft using UChicago email address.
The Digital Scholar Lab gives users the ability to create custom content sets containing as many as 10,000 documents. Users can search across their library’s Gale Primary Sources holdings and seamlessly select documents to be added to their custom content set. Users can analyze and interrogate the data with the text analysis and visualization tools built into the Digital Scholar Lab. Digital humanities analysis methods include: Named Entity Recognition, Topic Modelling, Parts of Speech, and more. Users’ content sets remained saved in the Digital Scholar Lab allowing them to manage their research for long term projects. Users can publish their outputs with confidence retaining all intellectual property rights and are free to share analysis outputs.
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
Search across all Gale Primary Source holdings in the UChicago subscription or select specific categories or groups of archives to search within.

Researchers may request text mining access to content from most Gale Primary Sources. These are delivered to the Library as XML and PDF files. The Library has acquired the collections listed below. Contact us about others.
Note: the Financial Times will not license their historical archive for text mining at this time

Economist Historical File for Textmining
Covers 1843-2013
Making of the Modern World I and II
Texts from the Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature. Covers 1450-1914.

Adam Matthew

The Library has secured text mining rights from the publisher, Adam Matthew The Library has purchased multiple archives from Adam Matthew, including the collections below.

Although rights are secured, an additional project description will be required from the researcher before Adam Matthew will release the data. Additional costs may be involved. Adam Matthew prohibits any automated searching and downloading of content from the website. Please contact the Library for assistance if you have a text and data mining project where you would like to use content from Adam Matthew.

Apartheid South Africa 1948-1988 This link opens in a new window
British government files related to South Africa under the first thirty years of the apartheid regime. Broad range of material from South Africa, Britain, the United States and other countries. Part of Archives Direct.
Confidential Print: Africa, 1834-1966 This link opens in a new window
The Confidential Print series, issued by the British Government between c. 1820 and 1970, is a fundamental building block for political, social and economic research.

The series originated out of a need to preserve the most important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices. These range from single-page letters or telegrams to comprehensive dispatches, investigative reports and texts of treaties. All items marked Confidential Print were printed and circulated immediately to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet and to heads of British missions abroad.

The documents in Confidential Print: Africa begin with coastal trading in the early nineteenth century and the Conference of Berlin of 1884 and the subsequent Scramble for Africa. They then follow the abuses of the Congo Free State, fights against tropical disease, Italys defeat by the Abyssinians, World War II, apartheid in South Africa and colonial moves towards independence. Together they cover the whole of the modern period of European colonisation of the continent from the British Governments perspective.
Confidential Print: Middle East 1839-1969 This link opens in a new window
The Confidential Print series, issued by the British Government between c. 1820 and 1970, is a fundamental building block for political, social and economic research.

The series originated out of a need to preserve the most important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices. These range from single-page letters or telegrams to comprehensive dispatches, investigative reports and texts of treaties. All items marked Confidential Print were printed and circulated immediately to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet and to heads of British missions abroad.

This collection consists of the Confidential Print for the countries of the Levant and the Arabian peninsula, Iran, Turkey, Egypt and Sudan. Beginning with the Egyptian reforms of Muhammad Ali Pasha in the 1830s, the documents trace the events of the following 150 years, including the Middle East Conference of 1921, the mandates for Palestine and Mesopotamia, the partition of Palestine, the 1956 Suez Crisis and post-Suez Western foreign policy, and the Arab-Israeli conflict.
Eighteenth Century Journals This link opens in a new window
Online journals from the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center collection of 17th and 18th century newspapers and periodicals. Topics covered include the writings of Sir Isaac Newton, the French Revolution, reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe, political debates, and coffee house gossip and discussion. Supports studies of the Eighteenth Century, including Literature, the Theatre, the origins and rise of Romanticism, Politics, Revolution and Rebellion, Social issues, Gender, Society Life, Religion and the influence of the Press.
Mass Observation Online This link opens in a new window
The original Mass Observation research project to study social history was conducted between the late 1930's and the late 1960's. Explore original manuscript and typescript papers created and collected by the Mass Observation organisation, as well as printed publications, photographs and interactive features.
Meiji Japan - Edward S. Morse Collection at Peabody Museum This link opens in a new window
Edward Sylvester Morse Papers were given to the Peabody Museum in 1926 and consist of 99 boxes of personal and professional papers including diaries, correspondence, research files, drawings, lecture notes, publications, scrapbooks and manuscripts. Collection digitized in its entirety. Papers (ca. 1858-1925, 40 cubic feet), document the numerous and valuable contributions made by Morse to the areas of malacology, zoology, ethnology, archaeology and art history. Included are diaries, scrapbooks, correspondence, research files, drawings, manuscripts, publications and teaching materials and drawings
Socialism on Film This link opens in a new window

Readex

Readex has introduced a new tool called Readex Text Explorer, which allows online text analysis using Voyant within selected Readex databases. This is currently only available in our Foreign Broadcast Information Service database (FBIS). Connect to FBIS and select Text Explorer in the menu bar to use this tool.

FBIS Publications, Foreign Broadcast Information Service daily reports. All Regions, 1941 - 1996 and Annexes This link opens in a new window
FBIS Daily Reports, 1941-1996 constitutes a one-of-a-kind archive of transcripts of foreign broadcasts and news that provides fascinating insight into the second half of the 20th century. Many of these materials are firsthand reports of events as they occurred. Digitized from original paper copy and high-quality microfilm, this definitive online collection features full-text transcripts from Africa, Asia and the Pacific, China, Eastern and Western Europe, Latin America, the Middle East and the Soviet Union.

Text Creation Partnership

The Text Creation Partnership is a joint effort to transcribe historical texts from three major databases

Early English Books Online (published by ProQuest)
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (published by Gale Cengage)
Evans Early American Imprints (published by the Readex division of Newsbank

The Library subscribes to the full versions of these databases which provide page images but not easy access to machine readable text. The TCP has made that available for researchers to download for selected titles from two of these databases.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) TCP
Multiple options available for downloading texts.
Evans Early American Imprints (Evans) TCP
Bulk download from the University of Michigan
Text Creation Partnership
TCP Homepage with more information on the project.
& more less...
The Text Creation Partnership creates standardized, accurate XML/SGML encoded electronic text editions of early print books. We transcribe and mark up the text from the millions of page images in ProQuest's Early English Books Online, Gale Cengage's Eighteenth Century Collections Online, and Readex's Evans Early American Imprints.

This work, and the resulting text files, are jointly funded and owned by more than 150 libraries worldwide. All of the TCP's work will be released the public domain for anyone to use.

See Access links to all categories of the database.