Skip to Main Content

Using Perma.cc to Archive Webpages

This guide provides an overview of how to use Perma.cc to archive webpages.

What Is Perma.cc?

A study by Pew Research Center states that "38% of webpages that existed in 2013 are no longer accessible a decade later."

Perma.cc is a free online tool that enables you to keep a record of a specified webpage so that you will not run into the broken link problem down the road.  The archived webpage has a unique URL (Perma Link), e.g., http://perma.cc/9265-T4NB.  When you cite the webpage using its Perma Link, readers will be able to see the archived webpage even if the original is no longer available online.  The video below provides more information about Perma.cc.

Faculty, students, and staff of the University of Chicago can request a free Perma.cc account for academic or research purposes by contacting the Center for Digital Scholarship

How Does Perma.cc Work?

To use Perma.cc to archive a webpage, you need to:

  • Request a Perma.cc account by contacting the Center for Digital Scholarship
  • Log into your account
  • Enter the URL of the webpage you want to archive
  • Select the folder with which the archived webpage will be affiliated
  • Click the "Create Perma Link" button

Perma.cc will store the content of a specified webpage in a record (Perma Record), and generate a Perma Link for it.  When the archiving is completed, Perma.cc will show you the Perma Record and its link.  

All Perma Records are preserved in the Perma.cc collection.  If you would like to delete a Perma Record, you have to do that within 24 hours.

In case Perma.cc is unable to capture the content of a webpage, it will display a notification about it and allow you to upload an image of the webpage instead.

This FAQ page provides additional information about Perma.cc.  For issues related to copyright and web archiving, refer to this document.

How Can I Manage Perma Links?

You can manage Perma Links in the following ways:

  • Search for them
  • Annotate them
  • Use folders to categorize them
  • Move them to different folders/categories
  • Adjust their public/private status

Details about these topics are available from this page.