MEDOC is a research unit supporting scholarly work in Middle Eastern Studies. It is currently undertaking a number of projects to this end.
"Strike a blow for Wissenschaft!"
The Chicago Online Bibliography of Mamluk Studies is an on-going project of the Middle East Documentation Center at the University of Chicago, the aim of which is to compile comprehensive bibliographies of all primary sources relating to the Mamluk sultanate of Egypt and Syria, as well as all research and discussion—scholarly and popular—germane to the subject. The project takes the form of two bibliographies: the primary and the secondary. It is hoped that the comprehensive nature of this bibliography will make more readily apparent the field's advances and its deficiencies.
The chronological and geographical limits traditionally used to demarcate the sultanate are not necessarily adhered to if the discussion at hand has some bearing on conditions during the period. Because no attempt has been made to evaluate the scholarly value of the material included here, the bibiliography should provide some insight into popular perceptions of the subject as well.
Although a bibliography may attempt to present the current state of a field, the structure of its organization necessarily restricts that presentation to a particular, fixed view. With this in mind, the structure of this bibliography is intended to order the data while providing a certain amount of flexibility. It is possible to browse both bibliographies by category. The categories were conceived to organize the literature without imposing an overly rigid view of the field. Accordingly, the categories are general topics within Mamluk studies and general types of sources. This approach has a certain element of intentional redundancy, as entries frequently have bearing on more than one subject category. Furthermore, the sub-fields are construed rather broadly, in part to avoid categories that are overly brief, but also to enhance the relationships between aspects of Mamluk studies.
Two aspects of this project have become clear as the list has grown longer. First, there will always be many more bibliographic trails to track; "comprehensive" necessarily refers to intended scope rather than actual content.
Second, the overall size of the bibliography has some bearing on the usefulness of its organization. Categories should not be considered as permanent. In the future, as the literature of sub-specialties grows, the general categories may warrant subdivision. As this is an on-going project, these two aspects will receive as much consideration as the collection of new literature, and users' contributions, comments, and criticisms are encouraged. The project benefited early on from the contributions of Jonthan Berkey, Ulrich Haarmann, David King, Donald Little, David Reisman, and Warren Schultz, and has continued to benefit from the contributions of many scholars in the years since.
To use the bibliography, follow the link below:
Marlis Saleh, Middle East Bibliographer
Middle East Department
Regenstein Library, 5th Floor, Rm 560