Quick Links
- History of Science, Technology, & Medicine This link opens in a new window
- Niels Bohr Library and ArchivesLinks to lots of online content including photographs, images, oral histories, digitized texts, and more in the history of physics from ancient times through the twentieth century.
About this Guide
You will find starting points for finding primary materials (manuscripts, archives, images, etc.), books and book chapters, articles from journals, and online resources for the history of physics. History of physics materials may be found in the more general resources for the history of science, so several of the resources cover more than just physics and physicists.
Famous Physicists
- The Galileo ProjectCollection of information about Galileo and other scientists of his time. Includes a helpful bibliography.
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of the History of Arabic Science by ISBN: 0415020638Publication Date: 1996-05-09The Arab contribution is fundamental to the history of science, mathematics and technology. In three volumes, this work documents the history and philosopy of Arabic science from the earliest times to the present day. The set as a whole covers seven centuries. Thirty chapters, written by an international team of specialists from Europe, America, the Middle East and Russia cover such areas as astronomy, mathematics, music, engineering, nautical science and scientific institutions. It is divided into three volumes: astronomy - theoretical and applied; mathematics and the physical sciences; technology, alchemy and life sciences.
Reader's Guide to the History of Science by ISBN: 188496429XPublication Date: 2000-12-01An international team of over 200 contributors looks at the literature of the history of science in some 500 entries on individuals, institutions and disciplines, general themes and central concepts.- History of Science in the United States byISBN: 0815307624Publication Date: 2000-11-27This encyclopaedia examines all aspects of the history and historiography of science in the United States, from colonial times to the present day. Special emphasis is placed on the history of medicine and technology and on the relationship between science and technology and science and medicine. These interrelationships form a perspective that allows the reader to see how technology and medicine influenced and in turn were influenced by the progress of scientific thought in the United States. More than 500 entries ranging from 200 words to 3000 words are all written by experts in the field to form a forum for established scholars and younger scholars presenting the fruits of their research.
Medieval Science, Technology, and Medicine by ISBN: 0415969301Publication Date: 2005-09-29Medieval Science, Technology and Medicine: An Encyclopedia examines the state of scientific and medical knowledge, as well as technology, in the middle ages. The coverage spans numerous disciplines and various countries, relating their advancements of science and placing discoveries within their cultural context. This work dispels the notion of the 'dark ages', revealing instead a world where scientific and medical research and discoveries were abundant and varied.
Instruments of Science by ISBN: 0815315619Publication Date: 1997-12-01This authoritative reference covers 325 scientific instruments ranging from antiquity to the present, and from the mundane to the highly sophisticated. Entries explain how they work and trace their invention, development, distribution and use. Fully illustrated and complete with bibliographies, it should be particularly useful to students and scholars of modern science and technology. Reflecting contemporary practice, it examines instruments used for testing and monitoring, as well as those used for research, and even considers a number of widely used laboratory organisms (such as drosophila and e.coli) as instruments.
Subject Specialist
Andrea Twiss-Brooks
she/her
Contact:
Director, Humanities and Area Studies
Chemistry and
Geophysical Sciences
Chat with an available librarian using Ask Me
Chemistry and
Geophysical Sciences
Chat with an available librarian using Ask Me
Can't Find the Book You Wanted?
Use the "Can't Find It? link in the catalog record to place a request for staff to search for the book
Ask the Library to purchase a copy of the book
Requesting books and media from other libraries using interlibrary loan service
TIP: WorldCat is a useful resource for identifying books that are not in the University of Chicago Library
Proquest Digital Dissertations is a resource listing dissertations from US and Canada. Some dissertations are available for full text download.
Used/antiquarian book sources on the web:
- AddAll (this is a good metasearch site that offers price/availability comparisons)
- Bookfinder.com
- Advanced Book Exchange