Library Guides: Health and Vital Statistics: Statistics by Disease/Condition

Cancer Statistics

American Brain Tumor Association
& more less...
Not-for-profit organization working to eliminate brain tumors through research and to meet the needs of patients and families
American Cancer Society
& more less...
The ACS is the nationwide health organization dedicated to eliminating cancer.
American College of Surgeons, National Cancer Database
& more less...
Nationwide oncology outcomes database for over 1,500 hospitals in 50 states, and is in its 10th year of operation. The NCDB was founded as a joint project of the Commission on Cancer (CoC) of the American College of Surgeons (ACOS) and the American Cancer Society (ACS).
CDC Division of Cancer Prevention and Control
& more less...
The DCPC is part of CDC's National Center For Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion.
International Agency for Research on Cancer
& more less...
(IARC) is part of the World Health Organization. IARC's mission is to coordinate and conduct research on the causes of human cancer, the mechanisms of carcinogenesis, and to develop scientific strategies for cancer control. The Agency is involved in both epidemiological and laboratory research and disseminates scientific information through publications, meetings, courses, and fellowships.

MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE is the United States National Library of Medicine's (NLM) bibliographic database providing information from the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences. It is also a primary source of information from the international literature on biomedicine, including the following topics as they relate to biomedicine and health care: Biology, environmental science, marine biology, plant and animal science, biophysics, and chemistry.
MEDLINE Plus (NIH) This link opens in a new window
Consumer health reference database from the National Institutes of Health (NIH) and other government agencies and health-related organizations. Includes information on over 700 diseases and conditions, as well as drug information, an illustrated medical encyclopedia and dictionary, interactive patient tutorials, lists of hospitals and physicians, and health news. Produced and updated daily by the National Library of Medicine (NLM).
Consumer health reference database from the National Institutes of Health (NIH) and other government agencies and health-related organizations. Includes information on over 700 diseases and conditions, as well as drug information, an illustrated medical encyclopedia and dictionary, interactive patient tutorials, lists of hospitals and physicians, and health news. Produced and updated daily by the National Library of Medicine (NLM).

National Cancer Institute
& more less...
The NCI is a component of the National Institutes of Health (NIH), one of eight agencies that compose the Public Health Service (PHS) in the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS).
National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
& more less...
NCHS, the Federal Government's principal vital and health statistics agency, is part of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
National Library of Medicine's Current Bibliographies in Medicine (CBM)
North American Association of Central Cancer Registries
& more less...
Professional organization that develops and promotes uniform data standards for cancer registration and aggregates and publishes data from central cancer registries.
Office of Cancer Survivorship
& more less...
The mission of the OCS is to enhance the quality and length of survival of all persons diagnosed with cancer and to minimize or stabilize adverse sequelae of cancer survivorship.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Provides access to citations and full text articles from the biomedical literature (medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care, and the preclinical sciences). PubMed includes MEDLINE (mid 1960s-present), OLDMEDLINE (1950-1965), in-process citations (not yet indexed).

Pan American Health Organization
& more less...
Regional Office for the Americas of the World Health Organization.
PAHO is an international public health agency working to improve health and living standards of the countries of the Americas. It serves as the specialized organization for health of the Inter-American System. It also enjoys international recognition as part of the United Nations system.
SEER Program
& more less...
The Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results (SEER) Program of the National Cancer Institute is the most authoritative source of information on cancer incidence and survival in the United States.
The Central Brain Tumor Registry of the United States (CBTRUS)
& more less...
Not-for-profit corporation committed to providing a resource for gathering and disseminating current epidemiologic data on all primary brain tumors, benign and malignant, for the purposes of accurately describing their incidence and survival patterns, evaluating diagnosis and treatment, facilitating etiologic studies, establishing awareness of the disease, and ultimately, for the prevention of all brain tumors.

Diabetes Statistics

American Diabetes Association
& more less...
The ADA is the nation's leading nonprofit health organization providing diabetes research, information and advocacy.
CDC's Diabetes and Public Health Resource
& more less...
Site maintained by the Division of Diabetes Translation, a division of the National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).
National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
& more less...
NCHS, the Federal Government's principal vital and health statistics agency, is part of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
The National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases, Diabetes
& more less...
The NIDDK, a division of the National Institutes of Health, conducts and supports research on many of the most serious diseases affecting the public health.
Pan American Health Organization
& more less...
Regional Office for the Americas of the World Health Organization.
PAHO is an international public health agency working to improve health and living standards of the countries of the Americas. It serves as the specialized organization for health of the Inter-American System. It also enjoys international recognition as part of the United Nations system.

HIV/AIDS Statistics

CDC Division of HIV/AIDS Prevention
& more less...
A division of the National Center for HIV, STD, and TB Prevention (NCHSTP) of the Centers for Disease Control (CDC).
CDC National Prevention Information Network (NPIN)
& more less...
The U.S. national reference, referral and distribution service for information on HIV/AIDS, STDs, and TB.
Center for International Earth Sciences Information Network (CIESIN)
& more less...
CIESIN was established in 1989 as a non-profit, non-governmental organization. CIESIN is the World Data Center A (WDC-A) for Human Interactions in the Environment.
Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation
& more less...
Independent philanthropic organization focused on major health care issues facing the nation.
International Labour Organization (ILO) - HIV/AIDS
& more less...
The ILO is the UN agency with special responsibility for the world of work and has a key role to play in preventing the spread of the AIDS epidemic and mitigating its impact in the world of work.
National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
& more less...
NCHS, the Federal Government's principal vital and health statistics agency, is part of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
Pan American Health Organization
& more less...
Regional Office for the Americas of the World Health Organization.
PAHO is an international public health agency working to improve health and living standards of the countries of the Americas. It serves as the specialized organization for health of the Inter-American System. It also enjoys international recognition as part of the United Nations system.
UNAIDS
& more less...
UNAIDS leads, strengthens and supports an expanded response aimed at preventing the transmission of HIV. Co-sponsored by UNICEF, UNDP, UNFPA, UNESCO, WHO, and the WORLD BANK
World Health Organization (WHO)
& more less...
WHO is defined by its Constitution as the directing and coordinating authority on international health work.

AIDSinfo This link opens in a new window
Offers information on HIV/AIDS treatment, prevention, and research. Provides current information on drugs in current use and on federally and privately funded HIV/AIDS trials. Includes a glossary of HIV/AIDS terminology.
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE is the United States National Library of Medicine's (NLM) bibliographic database providing information from the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences. It is also a primary source of information from the international literature on biomedicine, including the following topics as they relate to biomedicine and health care: Biology, environmental science, marine biology, plant and animal science, biophysics, and chemistry.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Provides access to citations and full text articles from the biomedical literature (medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care, and the preclinical sciences). PubMed includes MEDLINE (mid 1960s-present), OLDMEDLINE (1950-1965), in-process citations (not yet indexed).
UpToDate Online This link opens in a new window
UpToDate is a practical clinical reference comprised of thousands of original topic reviews which address a specific clinical issue and provide detailed recommendations. UpToDate performs a continuous review of over 270 journals and other resources.

Subject Specialist

Deb Werner

Send Email

Contact:

Director of Library Research in Medical Education
Joseph Regenstein Library, Room 268

773-702-8552

Subjects: Biological Sciences, Biomedical Informatics, Biomedical Sciences, Medicine, Molecular & Cell Biology, Organismal Biology