Library Guides: Industry Guide: Food & Beverages: Home

Home

Subject Specialists

Business & Economics Librarians

Send Email

Contact:

Greg Fleming
Emily Treptow

Regenstein Library Room 360

Subjects: Business, Economics

Industry Overviews

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Reports on many different segments of these industries. Browsing by industry may be easier than keyword searching.
IBISWorld has market research and analysis on over 700 industries.
Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window
Market research on U.S. consumer markets.
You must create an account to save sections of reports. Only uchicago.edu or chicagobooth.edu will be accepted.
Passport (Euromonitor) This link opens in a new window
Market research from Euromonitor. Reports on consumer markets around the world. Use the browse reports option to browse by industry or country. We especially recommend the Consumer Lifestyles reports, which give detailed information on consumer demographics in over 70 countries. Passport also contains summary statistics on consumer products in the menu search
S&P Global NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Features S & P's Industry Surveys, which provide macro-level analysis of 56 major industries. Also includes company profiles and financial data with analyst rankings of investment potential as well information about company executives.

RKMA Restaurant, Food & Beverage Market Research Handbook 2018-2019

Data & Statistics

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista collects data from a broad range of government and commercial sources. Data can be downloaded in Excel or pre-formatted for PowerPoint. Statista also includes reports from market research companies.

U.S. Department of Agriculture - Economic Research Service
Data from all levels of the food supply chain.
Adams Liquor Handbook
Print resource with extensive data and analysis of the distilled spirits industry, published annually.
Who's buying alcoholic and nonalcoholic beverages
Data aggregated from government surveys. The latest editions are online.
Who's buying groceries
Data aggregated from government surveys. The latest editions are online.

Trade Associations

These are major associations in these industries. There are many more specialized associations serving smaller segments. Find these in the Encyclopedia of Associations.

Encyclopedia of Associations
Print directory of associations.
American Beverage Association
Represents non-alcoholic beverage companies.
Beer Institute
Brewers Association
Distilled Spirits Council of the United States
Food Marketing Institute
& more less...
Food Marketing Institute (FMI) conducts programs in public affairs, food safety, research, education and industry relations on behalf of its member companies — food retailers and wholesalers — in the United States and around the world.
Grocery Manufacturers Association
International Bottled Water Association
National Restaurant Association
Wine Institute
Association of California wineries and related businesses.