K-12 Curriculum Materials

While children's books are not a major part of the Library's collection, some can be found throughout the Library's collections.

• Recently published children's books can be found in K-12 Curriculum Materials Collection. This collection, focused on teaching, includes picture books and early reading, along with some select literary award winners. 
• Additional children's books may be found scattered in our general collections. The majority of these are children's books in languages other than English, juvenile books written by prominent adult authors, and classic children's books (Harry Potter series, Wizard of Oz, Little Women, The Little Prince, etc.).
• Young Adult (YA) titles that are part of the Matilda Honey Young Adult Fiction Collection can be found under the call number PZ in our bookstacks. The new Reg Reads collection on the 1st floor also houses some current YA best sellers.
• Historical children's books in the Special Collections Research Center (available for use only within the Library).

.

To locate children's books at the University of Chicago Library search our Library Catalog for specific titles and subjects. The following subject searches provide good starting points.

• children's literature
• juvenile literature
• The Matilda Honey Young Adult Fiction Collection

You can also browse the Curriculum Materials Collection online, limiting to "fiction" or "juvenile works" as a subject.

Children's books are eligible for our Paging & Pickup Service.

The Library has very few children's books that are available online. However, you can search our Library Catalog for specific titles or using the searches suggested above, limiting to "electronic resources".

We also have access to children's ebooks available through the publisher Cricket Media. These include early reading and picture books, both fiction and non fiction.

Below are databases for finding ebooks and online magazines for children. The magazine databases provide limits for Lexile reading level in the advanced search.

The following databases are helpful for identifying children's books for teaching.