About this Guide
This guide provides a portal to online resources -- both free and licensed by the University of Chicago Library -- related to clinical trials management.
How to Access the Library's Online Resources
Access to the Library's online e-books, journals and databases is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff with University of Chicago computing accounts (CNet ID) and to users doing research within Library buildings.
For instructions and tips, see Connecting to Electronic Resources.
Getting Started - Key Clinical Trials Resources
- CenterWatchDatabase global listings of industry- and government-sponsored clinical trials
- Cochrane LibraryCochrane systematic reviews of primary research in human health care and health policy; trials registry
- Wiley Encyclopedia of Clinical Trials(CNet login required)
FDA Resources
- Drugs@FDASearch by Drug Name, Active Ingredient, or Application Number
- Advisory CommitteesCalendar and meeting materials for FDA advisory committees
- Medical Device RecallsSearch by product name, recalling firm, reason for recall, etc.
General Databases
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text: Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health This link opens in a new window
Drug Databases (CNet Login Required)
- Physicians' Desk ReferenceContains FDA-approved information on more than 4,000 prescription drugs and important data on more than 250 drug manufacturers.
- Goodman & Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of TherapeuticsComprehensive and authoritative resource on the pharmacology of drugs. Includes information on FDA approval, black box warnings, mechanism of action, pharmacokinetics, chemical structure, pill photographs, indications, contraindications, adverse effects, dosages, patient education, pharmacogenetics, and more. Drug names are linked to AccessMedicine's drug database, and references are linked to PubMed. PDA downloads available. Continually updated.
Statistics and Power Calculations
- Power & Sample Size CalculationsCreated by Russ Lenth of University of Iowa
- Statistical considerations for a parallel trial where the outcome is a measurementCreated by David Schoenfeld, Ph.D. (dschoenfeld@partners.org), with support from the MGH Mallinckrodt General Clinical Research Center
- LinkedIn Learning at UChicagoOnline tutorials in many subjects: statistics, healthcare analytics, R, Excel, etc.
(Requires a CNetID)
