Empirical Legal Research: Data Sources & Repositories

Huge array of datasets and statistical complications on crime (arrests, demographics), criminal offenders (sentencing, parole, recidivism), victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. Includes The provided data includes the FBI's Uniform Crime Reporting data (UCR), the Arrest Data Analysis Tool, and state and local law enforcement department data.

These datafiles exclude identifiers and provide fiscal year data for researchers interested in studying federal sentencing practices through quantitative methods. Includes This platform has datasets focused on federal sentencing for individuals and organizations, such as, corporate offenders., and some special projects The site also has data focused on special collections, aka data on individuals that falls outside of regularly collected data files, and special reports, which focuses on datafiles collected on special topics including methamphetamine tracking offenses, education levels, federal escape offenses, and compassionate release..

Datasets described on this site cover a range of topics. Topics include, but are not limited to, the characteristics of violent juvenile offenders, student victimization at school, sexual activity, and substance use. Data sources include official records and self-report data from surveys.

Numerous potential sources of criminal justice statistical information are reviewed for inclusion in Sourcebook, among them reports from State and Federal agencies, research centers, universities, private companies, and other organizations.

Archives and disseminates data on crime and justice for secondary analysis. The archive contains data from over 2,600 curated studies or statistical data series. NACJD is home to several large-scale and well known datasets, including the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS), the FBI's Uniform Crime Reporting data (UCR), the FBI's National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS), and the Project on Human Development in Chicago Neighborhoods (PHDCN).

Data on Federal Prosecutions, Convictions, Prison sentences of 1 year or more. TRACfed is available to all University of Chicago students, faculty, and staff through the proxy server.

Maintained by the Office of Postsecondary Education of the U.S. Department of Education. This analysis cutting tool was designed to provide rapid customized reports for public inquiries relating to campus crime and fire data. The data are drawn from the OPE Campus Safety and Security Statistics website database.

Compilation of publicly accessible online data sets on violence against women., and provides information about utilizing and/or analyzing data to enhance the work of advocates and others working to end domestic and sexual violence. Also contains tables of national and state data sets, including live links to data sets, annotations, and related information.

This database currently has records from nearly 12,000 cases of use of force and misconduct by California law enforcement officers.

Archives and distributes data collected by government agencies, NGOs, and researchers about the nature of intra- (domestic) and international terrorism incidents, organizations, perpetrators, and victims; governmental and nongovernmental responses to terror, including primary, secondary, and tertiary interventions; and citizen's attitudes towards terrorism, terror incidents, and the response to terror.