Library Guides: Molecular Engineering: Articles and Databases

Article Databases

The Library subscribes to many article indexing databases in all areas of science, engineering and medicine. Below are ones most useful for molecular engineering. For a complete list of all databases provided by the Library, visit the Database Finder.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is an interdisciplinary, bibliographic database that indexes the contents of more than 29,000 journals in the physical sciences, engineering, earth and environmental sciences, life and health sciences, social sciences, psychology, business, and management.

Scopus also features cited references and can be searched for articles that cite a specific article.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 10,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage available to 1900. Includes the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Web of Science is especially useful for its citation linking.
CAS SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
SciFinder-n is a research discovery tool that allows you to explore the CAS databases that contain literature from many scientific disciplines including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, material science, agricultural science, and more.
Provides access to Chemical Abstracts references (1907-current), including searches by CAS Registry Number (RN), author, topic, molecular formula, and structure/substructure (compound or reaction). Structure/substructure searches retrieve results from the CASREACT reaction database and the CA Registry File compound database. Links to full-text of articles and patents are available.

Find It!

When searching various Library and online sources, the button, when present, can be used to locate an item in the Library Catalog, to gain access to the full-text of an article, or to send interlibrary loan orders for items that the Library does not own.

Video: Find the Full Text of an Article from a Citation

View the 3-minute video below to learn how to find the full text of articles through the University of Chicago Library using information from the article’s citation.

ProxyIt!

The ProxyIt! bookmarklet will reload a page to use IT Services proxy server. Install this button in your browser to get access to Library resources from off campus.

In Chrome, Edge, Firefox or Safari, drag this ⇒ ProxyIt! ⇐ link to your bookmarks toolbar.

Once installed, anytime you go to a web page of one of our electronic resources, click the ProxyIt! Button and it will reroute the page through the proxy server so that you can login and access the material. You must have JavaScript enabled for the bookmarklet to work.

ProxyIt! will only work for resources to which the Library has subscribed. You can find whether we have a subscription by consulting the Library Catalog, the Ejournals database, or Articles Plus.

University of Chicago Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Find items in all campus libraries, including books, periodicals, sound recordings, videos, DVDs and more.
E-Journals database This link opens in a new window
Find journals and magazines that are available online.
Articles Plus This link opens in a new window
Articles Plus allows simultaneous searching of a broad range of articles, books, book reviews, and other collections, including:
Hundreds of the Librarys article databases
Over 40,000 journals and periodicals
The University of Chicago Library catalog
Digitized collections of documents and images from many organizations