Continental Congress
- Documents from the Continental Congress and the Constitutional Convention, 1774-1789The Continental Congress Broadside Collection, from the Library of Congress' American Memory collections, includes materials relating to the work of Congress dating from 1774 to 1788. Most items consist of a single sheet and provide a significant supplement to the Journals of the Continental Congress.
- Journals of the Continental CongressThe Library of Congress's A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation collection has journals from the First and Second Continental Congresses. The Journals are the records of the daily proceedings kept by the office of its secretary, Charles Thomson. The Journals were printed contemporaneously, however, the "Secret Journals", confidential sections of the records, were not printed until 1821. They are included here.
United States Congress
- Library of Congress: A Century of Lawmaking for a New NationPublished congressional records of the United States of America from the Continental Congress through the 43rd Congress, 1774-1875. It includes the Journals of the Continental Congress (1774-89); the Letters of Delegates to Congress (1774-89); the Records of the Federal Convention of 1787, or Farrand's Records, and the Debates in the Several State Conventions on the Adoption of the Federal Constitution (1787-88), or Elliot's Debates; the Journals of the House of Representatives (1789-1875) and the Senate (1789-1875), including the Senate Executive Journal (1789-1875); the Journal of William Maclay (1789-91), senator from Pennsylvania in the 1st Congress; the debates of Congress as published in the Annals of Congress (1789-1824), the Register of Debates (1824-37), Congressional Globe (1833-73), and Congressional Record (1873-75); the Statutes at Large (1789-1875); the American State Papers (1789-1838); and congressional bills and resolutions for selected sessions beginning with the 6th Congress (1799) in the House of Representatives and the 16th Congress (1819) in the Senate. A select number of documents and reports from the U.S. Congressional Serial Set are available as well. Also included is the Supplement to The Congressional Globe Containing the Proceedings of the Senate Sitting for the Trial of Andrew Johnson.
United States Serial Set
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new windowFind the U.S. Serial Set within the ProQuest Congressional Database. The Serial Set is a collection of U.S. Government publications compiled under directive of the Congress. It contains comprehensive and often detailed information on an extremely wide range of subjects. There has rarely been a published series of its depth and breadth of coverage, and none in this country as long-lived. Its earliest documents date from 1789 and additions are made continually.
Currently, the Serial Set includes House and Senate documents and reports, Senate executive reports, and Senate treaty documents.
The U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection includes indexing, bibliographic information, and searchable PDFs for all Serial Set publications from 1789-1969.
