Data Repository Quick Links
Global Science Data
- International Council for Science's World Data System
ICSU World Data System supports this vision by promoting universal and equitable access to, and long-term stewardship of, quality-assured scientific data and data services, products, and information covering a broad range of disciplines from the natural and social sciences, and humanities. WDS aims at facilitating the scientific research endeavours under the ICSU umbrella by coordinating trusted scientific data services for the provision, use, and preservation of relevant datasets.
- Share Geo OpenShareGeo Open is a spatial data repository that promotes data sharing between creators and users of spatial data.
- Earth PrintsEarth-Prints is an open archive created and maintained by Istituto Nazionale di Geofisica e Vulcanologia. This digital collection allows users to browse, search and access manuscripts, journal articles, theses, conference materials, books, book-chapters, web products.
- National Snow & Ice Data CenterThe National Snow and Ice Data Center (NSIDC) supports research into our world’s frozen realms: the snow, ice, glaciers, frozen ground, and climate interactions that make up Earth’s cryosphere. NSIDC manages and distributes scientific data, creates tools for data access, supports data users, performs scientific research, and educates the public about the cryosphere.
- Global Change Master Directory
The Global Change Master Directory, maintained by the Earth Sciences Directorate at the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA), provides access to more than 25,000 earth and environmental science data sets, relevant to global change and Earth science research.
Atmospheric Science Repositories
- CISL Research Data ArchiveThe CISL Research Data Archive (RDA), managed by NCAR's Data Support Section (DSS), contains a large and diverse collection of meteorological and oceanographic observations, operational and reanalysis model outputs, and remote sensing datasets to support atmospheric and geosciences research, along with ancillary datasets, such as topography/bathymetry, vegetation, and land use.
Twitter: @NCAR_RDA
Oceanographic Science Repositories
- PetDB, the Petrological DatabasePetDB is a global synthesis of chemical, isotopic, and mineralogical data for rocks, minerals, and melt inclusions. PetDB's current content focuses on data for
igneous and metamorphic rocks from the ocean floor, specifically mid-ocean ridge basalts and abyssal peridotites;
xenolith samples from the Earth's mantle and lower crust. (NEW!) PetDB is maintained and continuously updated as part of the EarthChem data collections.
National Oceanographic and Atmospheric Administration Resources
Accessing Data
- National Centers for Environmental InformationSearch Ocean Profile Data, Ocean Climatology, Satellite Data, and regional and specific project data sets.
Submit your Data
- Send2NCEI (S2N)
You can officially submit and archive your environmental data with NOAA's National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI). We provide data management services including acquisition, processing, quality control, archival, & distribution for environmental data. We keep an exact copy of any data that you submit, regardless of how it may be used in other processing steps. These data may be used well into the future, so submit as much information about your data as possible.