Library Guides: Industry Guide: Sports and Sporting Goods: Home

Home

Subject Specialists

Business & Economics Librarians

Send Email

Contact:

Greg Fleming
Emily Treptow

Regenstein Library Room 360

Subjects: Business, Economics

Industry Overviews

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Has reports on a number of different segments of these industries
IBISWorld has market research and analysis on over 700 industries.
Passport (Euromonitor) This link opens in a new window
Better for consumer profiles
Market research from Euromonitor. Reports on consumer markets around the world. Use the browse reports option to browse by industry or country. We especially recommend the Consumer Lifestyles reports, which give detailed information on consumer demographics in over 70 countries. Passport also contains summary statistics on consumer products in the menu search
Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window
Reports on marketing through sports and to sports fans.
Market research on U.S. consumer markets.
You must create an account to save sections of reports. Only uchicago.edu or chicagobooth.edu will be accepted.
RKMA Market Research Handbooks This link opens in a new window
Includes annual Sports Marketing handbook
Richard K. Miller & Associates (RKMA), founded in 1972, publishes handbooks focused
on marketing and the consumer marketplace. With over 30,000 copies in print, RKMA
ranks as one of the country's largest market research publishers.
RKMA established itself as a leading market analyst and futurist firm in the early 1980s
with its research on advanced computing. The forecasts of Richard Miller, founder and
president of the firm, on the commercialization of computer graphics, real-time supply
chain management, industrial automation, and other emerging technologies were
amazingly accurate. RKMA first wrote about the Internet (then called Arpanet) in 1984.

Data & Statistics

Sports Market Analytics This link opens in a new window
Information on spectator and participation sports. Includes data on salaries, attendance and broadcast revenue for major leagues.
SMA is a single resource for analytics of sports marketing trends, brand preferences, general media habits, sponsorship, social media, fantasy, eSports, participation, and sports equipment and footwear. We feature wide-ranging resources tailored to meet specific needs of sports teams, media, leagues, agencies, manufacturers, retailers and sports educational institutions.

Rod Fort's Sports Economics
Extensive data on MLB, NBA, NFL, NHL, College Football and World Soccer
Massey Ratings Data
Win/loss records for many different leagues, going back as far as 1987. Data can be exported to MATLAB.
USA Today College Athletics Finance Database
Income and expenses data for over 200 public universities.
Equity in Athletics Data Analysis
Provided by the US Department of Education, this tool breaks down revenue and expense data by individual men's and women's sports at over 2000 universities and colleges in the U.S. Entire data collections can be downloaded as an Excel or SPSS file.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Especially good for statistics on sporting goods and outdoor activities
Statista collects data from a broad range of government and commercial sources. Data can be downloaded in Excel or pre-formatted for PowerPoint. Statista also includes reports from market research companies.

Trade Associations

There are also trade associations for specific sports or sporting goods. The Encyclopedia of Associations is the best sort for locating them, it is in print only in Regenstein Library Reference, call number HS61.E56

National Sporting Goods Association
Outdoor Industry Association
Many research reports available for free.

Secondary Sources

ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
Replaces ABI/Inform Complete.
Contains business-focused content from a variety of sources including newspapers, dissertations, ebooks, video, business cases, industry reports and more.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Article database that includes trade publications, academic journals, industry profiles, country information and company profiles, which include SWOT analyses. Full text is often available. Use the FindIt links to locate full text of articles that are not included in the database.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Provides access to global news and business information, including local newspapers, same-day newswires, company reports, and media programs. Content is available in many different languages, including Chinese, French, German, Japanese and Russian. Stock data and indices are available for 5 years.