Government Documents
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new windowProvides access to bills, statutes, regulations, policies & issues, and legislative directories for the United States Congress. Includes full text of congressional reports, documents, prints, bills and the Congressional Record, as well as indexes to other congressional publications.
Government Indexes
- govInfo This link opens in a new windowGPO's govinfo provides public access to Government information submitted by Congress and Federal agencies and preserved as technology changes.
Federal Regulations
The Federal Register is published daily and consists of proposed and passed regulations that Federal agencies use to carry out policies based on laws passed by Congress. The Code of Federal Regulations is the yearly compilation of promulgated rules and is organized into 50 titles, including Commerce and Foreign Trade, Energy, Foreign Relations, and National Defense.
- Federal Register This link opens in a new window
- Federal Register (with public comments) This link opens in a new window
- Code of Federal Regulations This link opens in a new window
Examples of Primary Sources
- Documents of Native American Political Development 1500s to 1933Primarily from the 19th-century, these sources document ways that Native nations governed themselves prior to 1934.
- Caitin, George (1796-1872)Books written by Catlin documenting his observations of the Indian tribes of North America; in Regenstein or online.
- Records of the Moravian Mission among the Indians of North America, 1735-1900Moravian Mission was influential through its Indian leaders, many of whom were educated by the missions and even converted to Christianity. Request on Interlibrary Loan from the Center for Research Libraries
- Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window1665-present. Hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
Beyond the Univeristy of Chicago
- Native Americans and the New DealFrom the Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, Record Group 75, at the National Archives and Records Administration, the office files of John Collier, 1933-1945. Finding aid
All of these microfilm collections my be ordered using Interlibrary Loan.
- Letters sent to the Office of Indian Affairs by the agents or superintendents at the Pine Ridge Agency, 1875-1914
- Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, procedural issuances, orders and circulars, 1854-1955
Subject Guide
Nancy Spiegel
she/her
Contact:
Bibliographer for Art and Cinema
Bibliographer for History
Regenstein Library Room 463
Bibliographer for History
Regenstein Library Room 463
773-702-5193