Library Guides: U.S. Census and Demographic Data: Advanced Data Sources

Advanced Data Sources

data.census.gov Microdata Access
The Microdata Access portal for data.census.gov includes Current Population Survey microdata files.
IPUMS USA
Collects, preserves and harmonizes U.S. census microdata and provides easy access to this data with enhanced documentation. Data includes decennial censuses from 1790 to 2010 and American Community Surveys (ACS) from 2000 to the present.

& more less...

IPUMS is not a collection of compiled statistics; it is composed of microdata. Each record is a person, with all characteristics numerically coded. In most samples persons are organized into households, making it possible to study the characteristics of people in the context of their families or other co-residents. Because the data are individuals and not tables, researchers must use a statistical package to analyze the millions of records in the database. A data extraction system enables users to select only the samples and variables they require.

ICPSR: Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research
The largest social science data archive in the world. Contains many time-series datasets and is international in scope. Each dataset is accompanied by extensive documentation. The ICPSR Bibliography of Data-Related Literature allows researchers to discover sources that cite data that is archived in ICPSR.
ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and includes many large time-series datasets. International in scope.