Environmental & Urban Studies

Warder Clyde Allee was an Associate professor of zoology, University of Chicago, 1921-1923, associate professor, 1923-1928, professor, 1928-1950. Dean of the College of Arts, Literature, and Science, University of Chicago, 1924-1926. Secretary of the Department of Zoology, University of Chicago, 1927-1934. Managing editor, Physiological Zoology, 1937-1955. Chair, National Research Council Committee on the Ecology of Animal Populations. Contains personal and professional correspondence, minutes, reports, research notes and notebooks, manuscripts of articles and books by Allee and other zoologists, lectures, and photographs. Includes the 1894 Ph.D. dissertation of Charles Manning Child who taught zoology at the University of Chicago, 1916-1934.

The Atomic Scientists of Chicago (ASC) was founded in September 1945 at the Metallurgical Laboratory of the University of Chicago to address the moral and social responsibilities of scientists regarding the use of nuclear energy and to promote public awareness of its possible consequences.

Orator F. Cook, botanist. The Orator F. Cook Papers consist of materials pertaining to Cook's activities in Liberia from 1889 to 1898 including correspondence, clippings, business records and photographs. The collection also includes biographical materials about Cook.

Henry Chandler Cowles, botanist, University of Chicago alumnus and faculty member in the Department of Botany, pioneered the study of ecology. This collection represents Henry C. Cowles's work in research and teaching; his family life, including the activities of his wife and daughter; the work of Cowles's students; and the genealogy of the Cowles family. Materials in this collection include diaries, biographical and genealogical material, lecture and field notes, publications, ecological surveys, correspondence, and photographs of the Cowles family and of botany field trips.

The papers of zoologist Frank R. Lillie cover the period 1899-1941 and include correspondence and research files. The correspondence concerns colleagues and students as well as administrative correspondence from his time as chairman of the Zoology Department. The correspondence also includes material from his responsibilities at the Marine Biological Laboratory at Woods Hole, Massachusetts, which he helped to establish. The collection also contains Lillie’s extensive research in the form of loose notes, drawings and 30 laboratory notebooks. These notebooks span the period from 1901-1929 and include Lillie’s detailed observations on his scientific work, most of it conducted at Woods Hole.

Charles Edward Olmsted (1908-1976) was a botanist, ecologist, environmental activist, consultant, editor and science educator who worked at the University of Chicago from 1934-1973. He served as chair of the Department of Botany from 1953-1968, edited Botanical Gazette, and was active on university-wide administrative committees. He received attention for both his research on plant ecology and his advocacy for environmental conservation. Material in this collection is concentrated in the 1930s-1970s, and includes correspondence; publications; photographs; research material and drafts of published works; course material and student work; University of Chicago administrative records; and records of Olmsted's involvement with professional organizations, scholarly journals, conservation groups, foundations, government agencies, and science education organizations.

Founded in 1894 under the leadership of John M. Coulter, The University of Chicago Department of Botany quickly grew to become one of modern botany's most influential centers of research and teaching. The work of Henry C. Cowles and others associated with the Chicago school of ecology is generally regarded as one of the most influential forces in the development of ecological studies. This collection includes administrative files, publications, memorabilia and artifacts, and a large collection of photographs documenting plant life, environmental phenomena, and departmental activities.

Established in 1892 as the Department of Zoology and Paleontology aand reorganized as the Department of Zoology in 1893. The Records contain correspondence, financial and budgetary records, reports, minutes, course announcements, and examinations. Includes correspondence of department chairman, C.M. Child (1931-1934). Material relates to the administration of the department, curriculum, appointments, scholarships, and fellowships.

The Hyde Park Historical Society was founded in 1977 to record and preserve the history of the Hyde Park-Kenwood neighborhood. Included are the Hyde Park Historical Society's administrative records, as well as its collection of historic materials. The collection contains architectural drawings, artifacts, audio material, clippings, correspondence, deeds, manuscripts, maps, memorabilia, oral histories, photographs, postcards, posters, publications, scrapbooks, and slides. These document the individuals, institutions, events, and projects that have shaped Hyde Park's urban and social landscape.

Philip M. Klutznick, businessman, philanthropist, diplomat, government official and Jewish leader. The Philip M. Klutznick Papers comprise 175.5 linear feet and include correspondence, manuscripts, notes, published materials, photographs, scrapbooks, architectural plans, awards and mementos and audio and video recordings. The papers document Klutznick's career as a real estate developer, philanthropist, United Nations representative in the 1950s and 1960s, President of B'nai B'rith, 1953-59 and the World Jewish Congress, 1977-1979, U.S. Secretary of Commerce, 1979-1981 and leader of the American and international Jewish community.

This collection consists of approximately 4,500 photographs documenting natural environments, ecologies, and plant communities in the United States at the end of the nineteenth and the beginning of the twentieth century. Produced between 1891 and 1936 by a group of American botanists generally regarded as one of the most influential in the development of modern ecological studies, these photographs provide an overview of important representative natural landscapes across the nation.

Part of the First American West: The Ohio River Valley, 1750-1820 digital collections. Scanned images of the original illustrations.

This online collection consists of 15,000 pages of original historical material documenting the land, peoples, exploration, and transformation of the trans-Appalachian West from the mid-eighteenth to the early nineteenth century.

Photographs, letters, publications, and other archival materials documenting Philip M. Klutznick's multi-faceted life and career as a pioneering community developer, philanthropist, United Nations representative, U.S. Secretary of Commerce and leader of the American and international Jewish community.

Second edition of Linnaeus' treatise. Interleaved extensively with manuscript notes and marginalia in several hands.

"The temple of flora, or garden of nature" which was first published as the concluding part of the author's "New illustration of the sexual system of Carolus von Linnaeus," completed in 1807.

Adams, Ansel. My Camera in Yosemite Valley; 24 Photographs and an Essay on Mountain Photography. Yosemite National Park; Boston: V. Adams; Houghton Mifflin, 1949. From the R.R. Donnelley and Sons Company Training Dept. Library.

Leonardo da Vinci. Croquis Et Dessins De Botanique: Arbres, Feuilles, Fleurs, Fruits, Herbes; Feuillets inédits, Reproduits d'après Les Originaux conservés à La bibliothèque Du château De Windsor. Paris: E. Rouveyre, 1901.