University of Chicago safety resources
- Safety training resourcesMore than 20 modules in all areas of safety, including chemical safety as well as topics like ergonomics, ladder safety and hearing protection.
Safety Data
- Bretherick's Handbook of Reactive Chemical HazardsBretherick's Handbook of Reactive Chemical Hazards, Eighth Edition presents the latest updates on the unexpected, but predictable, loss of containment and explosion hazards from chemicals and their admixtures and actual accidents. The extensively cross-referenced book enables readers to avoid explosion and loss of containment of chemicals.
- Toxicological Profiles.Toxicological Profiles (Tox Profiles) are a unique compilation of toxicological information on a given hazardous substance. Each peer-reviewed Tox Profile reflects a comprehensive and extensive evaluation, summary, and interpretation of available toxicological and epidemiological information on a substance.
- International Chemical Safety Cards (WHO/IPCS/ILO).The International Chemical Safety Cards (ICSC) summarize essential health and safety information on chemicals for their use at the “shop floor” level by workers and employers in factories, agriculture, construction and other work places.
- NIOSH data gatewayThis NIOSH Data and Statistics page has been developed to provide centralized access to NIOSH data. It can be used to find available NIOSH data and statistics and resources in a variety of forms. See data definitions to easily identify data types. The NIOSH Data A-Z index below categorizes topics for which data are available.
- Hazardous Laboratory Chemicals Disposal Guide.Call Number: QD64.A76 2003Designed primarily for the laboratory worker, this title presents hazard information and procedures for in-house recycling or disposal of commonly-used laboratory chemicals.
- NIOSH pocket guide to chemical hazards and other databasesContents: Immediately dangerous to life and health concentrations -- International chemical safety cards -- NIOSH certified equipment list -- NIOSH manual of analytical methods -- NIOSH pocket guide to chemical hazards -- Recommendations for chemical protective clothing -- Specific medical tests published for OSHA regulated substances -- Toxicologic review of selected chemicals -- 2000 emergency response guidebook (U.S. Dept. of Transportation).
- Handbook of Chemical and Biological Warfare Agents byCall Number: UG447.E44 2000Written by a former commissioned officer of the U.S. Army Chemical Corps with additional experience as an EPA Federal On-Scene Coordinator for hazardous materials emergencies. Organized into 5 sections. Section I is alphabetical index of agent synonyms, including military names and identification codes, as well as scientific, common, and some foreign names. Section II is the main agent index, with chemical, biological and toxicological properties of agents. It is further organized by class of agent (e.g. nerve agents). Section III contains general information about each agent class. Section IV contains a compilation of applicable "North American Emergency Response Guidebooks". Section V contains general information including agent detector characteristics, protective equipment, sample collection guidelines, summary of military munitions markings, international and U.S. lists of agents, a glossary and references. All materials listed as agents have been used on battlefields, stockpiled, received interest by programs to evaluate potential agents, or used/threatened to be used by terrorists.
- Hazardous Chemicals Desk Reference byCall Number: T55.3.H3 L49 2008Available online.
Contains Safety Profiles, synonyms, physical properties, standards, and recommendations of government agencies for approximately 5,000 chemicals deemed both important and potentially hazardous by the international scientific community. Substances were chosen on the basis of meeting a variety of criteria, including:having an OSHA standard or an ACGIH TLV, being listed by the International Agency for Research on Cancer Groups or on the NTP Ninth Report on Carcinogens, having a German Research Society’s Mak or Bat listing, or having especially dangerous toxic, reactive, or fire properties.
The data for each entry is taken from the master file of Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials (DPIM). Updated to include the latest information from a variety of international databases and organizations, while deleting entries that have proven to be the least pertinent to practitioners (the fourth edition contained 6,000 chemicals). Includes synonym, DOT number, and CAS registry number indexes
Management & Disposal
- Hazardous Laboratory Chemicals Disposal Guide.Call Number: QD64.A76 2003Designed primarily for the laboratory worker, this title presents hazard information and procedures for in-house recycling or disposal of commonly-used laboratory chemicals.
- Hazardous Materials Chemistry. byCall Number: QD33.B48 2001Practical introduction to chemistry intended for first responders, hazardous materials technicians, and incident commanders. This book is meant to give these personnel an understanding of basic chemical concepts and how they relate to the hazardous materials response scene. Nomenclature ("a means of enemy identification"), physical and chemical aspects of compounds, pH, radiation, are some key concepts covered. Organic and inorganic compounds are both included in the treatment. All concepts are related to the mitigation of a hazard. Glossary, list of acronyms, subject index, and list of book, database and web resources are also included.
- Prudent Practices for Disposal of Chemicals from Laboratories. byCall Number: T55.3.H3 F780 1995Publication Date: updated 2011Available online
"This volume updates and combines two National Academy Press bestsellers--Prudent Practices for Handling Hazardous Chemicals in Laboratories (1980) and Prudent Practices for Disposal of Chemicals from Laboratories (1983)--which have served for more than a decade as leading sources of chemical safety guidelines for the laboratory.
Developed by experts from academia and industry, with specialties in such areas as chemical sciences, pollution prevention, and laboratory safety, Prudent Practices for Safety in Laboratories provides step-by-step planning procedures for handling, storage, and disposal of chemicals. The volume explores the current culture of laboratory safety and provides an updated guide to federal regulations. Organized around a recommended workflow protocol for experiments, the book offers prudent practices designed to promote safety and it includes practical information on assessing hazards, managing chemicals, disposing of wastes, and more.
Prudent Practices for Safety in Laboratories is essential reading for people working with laboratory chemicals: research chemists, technicians, safety officers, chemistry educators, and students." (from NAP website)
Subject Specialist
Andrea Twiss-Brooks
she/her
Contact:
Director, Humanities and Area Studies
Chemistry and
Geophysical Sciences
Chat with an available librarian using Ask Me
Chemistry and
Geophysical Sciences
Chat with an available librarian using Ask Me