Library Guides: Materials Science: Data in Handbooks and on the Web

Print Reference Handbooks

ASM Metals Reference Book. 3rd ed.
Metals Park, Ohio: American Society for Metals, 1993.
TA459.A780 Crerar Library Reference Collection
One volume source compiles metals data, presented mostly with tables and diagrams with only minimal text. Quick reference to basic information included in other metals handbooks. Contains glossary of metallurgical and metalworking terms.

The Crerar Library print reference collections contains most standard handbooks of materials science. Handbooks are a very good source of evaluated data for materials science and engineering. The following are among the most comprehensive resources.

Composite Materials Handbook. 2nd ed.
Edited by Mel M. Schwartz. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1992.
TA418.9.C6S380 Crerar Library Reference Collection
Describes composite materials and their methods of manufacture and use. Devoted primarily to fiber- and metal-reinforced matrix composites. Indexes with glossary of common industry terms.
CRC Handbook of Materials Science.
Ed. By Charles T. Lynch. Cleveland, Ohio: Chemical Rubber Company, 1974-1980.
TA403.4.L95 Crerar Library Reference Collection
Contents: v.1, General properties; v.2, Metals, composites and refractory materials; v. 3, Nonmetallic materials and applications; v.4, Wood. Aimed at non-experts and experts in other fields interested in materials information out side their usual area. Volume 4 is one of the few sources with materials data for wood.
Engineered Materials Handbook.
Metals Park, Ohio: American Society for Metals, 1987. 4 volumes.
TA403.E4970 1987 Crerar Library Reference Collection
Four volume work designed for use by engineers and other technicians engaged in selecting, designing, evaluating, and applying advanced composite materials in a wide range of uses. Contents include: V. 1, Composites; V. 2, Engineered Plastics; V. 3, Adhesives and Sealants; V. 4, Ceramics & Glasses.
Materials Handbook. 14th ed.
By George B. Brady and Henry R. Clauser. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1997.
TA403.M3 Crerar Library Reference Collection
Encyclopedia description of minerals, chemicals, engineering and industrial materials, and plant and animal substances. Provides properties data and information on a wide range of materials, some not covered by other standard sources.
Metals Handbook. 10th ed.
Metals Park, Ohio: American Society for Metals, 1990. 20 volumes.
TA459.M430 1990 Crerar Library Reference Collection
Definitive source for the metals and metalworking industry. Articles contain bibliographic references, extensive tabular data, and illustrations. Subject coverage includes: irons and steels; alloys and pure metals; stainless steels; tool materials, and special-purpose metals; heat treating; surface cleaning, finishing, and coating; welding, and more
Physical Properties of Polymers Handbook.
Edited by James E. Mark. Woodbury, N.Y. : AIP Press, c1996.
TA455.P58P4750 1996 Crerar Library Reference Collection
Part of the AIP Series in Polymers and Complex Materials. Includes data for densities, coefficients of thermal properties among many others. Also has a glossary and units and conversion factors section.
Polymer Handbook. 4th ed.
Edited by J. Brandup, E.H. Immergut, E.A. Grulke. New York: Wiley, 1999.
TP156.P6B82 Crerar Library Reference Collection
Physical and chemical data on polymers. Consists of chapter-length data tabulations and extensive bibliographies. Subject index. Intended for expert users.
Smithells Metals Reference Book. 7th ed.
Edited by Eric A. Brandes. London; Boston: Butterworths, 1992.
TN671.S663 Crerar Library Reference Collection
Summarizes a comprehensive range of metallurgical data, providing mostly tables and diagrams. Serves as the basic reference source for professionals, libraries, and research labs in engineering and metallurgy.
Thermophysical Properties of Matter.
Edited by Y.S. Touloukian. New York: IFI/Plenum, 1970-1979. 14 volumes.
QC171.P96 Crerar Library Reference Collection
Contents include: Thermal conductivity, Specific heat, Thermal radiative properties, Thermal diffusivity, Viscosity, and Thermal expansion of metals, alloys and nonmetallic compounds.

Online Sources of Data

Authoritative sources for materials data may be found not only in print reference books, but also in various web sites.

Journal of Physical and Chemical Reference Data (JPCRD)
American Institute of Physics and the National Institute of Standards and Technology.
Physical and chemical data collected and published as part of the journal. Fully searchable index. Covers all aspects of data types. Available online through American Institute of Physics.
Material Safety Data Sheets on the Internet.
Provided by Interactive Learning Paradigms, Incorporated.
Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) contain information on chemicals and chemical compounds including chemical formula, CAS Registry Number, synonyms, physical properties, solubility, reactivity, corrosivity, flammability, and toxicology. This site provides links to a large number of MSDS archives available from educational, governmental, and commercial institutions.
Materials Properties Locator Database.
Developed by the Science and Engineering Library, SUNY-University at Buffalo.
This database helps to identify handbooks and other reference sources which contain specific material properties data. The online database can be searched by keyword or combinations of keywords and phrases. The records in the database describe the scope and organization of each reference work and the materials and properties covered. Search UChicago library catalog for individual titles.
MatWeb: The On-line Materials Information Resource.
MatWeb provides free materials property data for over 19,013 generic and commercial engineering materials, including polymers, alloys, steels, ceramics, superconductors, and other metals. Users can search by common name, trade name, name fragment, composition, application, or property requirements.
NIST Chemistry WebBook.
Provided by the National Institute of Standards and Technology, Washington, D.C..
Provides thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data compiled by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program.
Thermodex: An Index of Selected Thermodynamic Data Handbooks.
Developed by the General Libraries at the University of Texas at Austin.
This database contains records for over 120 printed handbooks and compilations of thermodynamic and thermophysical data for chemical compounds and other substances. It enables you to enter both a type of compound and a property, and will return a list of handbooks that might contain this data. Search UChicago catalog for individual titles.

SpringerMaterials: The Landolt-Bornstein Database This link opens in a new window
SpringerMaterials is based on the Landolt-Börnstein New Series, the unique, fully evaluated data collection in all areas of physical sciences and engineering. SpringerMaterials also comprises the Dortmund Data Bank Software & Separation Technology, a Database on Thermophysical Properties and the Linus Pauling Files, a Database on Inorganic Solid Phases and chemical safety data.

Contact Information

Andrea Twiss-Brooks
Director, Humanities and Area Studies
Chemistry and Geophysical Sciences Librarian
Send Email