Papyrology

Entries are organised according to meaning, with a view to showing the developing senses of words and the relationships between those senses. Other contextual and explanatory information, all expressed in contemporary English, is included, such as the typical circumstances in which a word may be used.

The Demotic Dictionary of the Oriental Institute of the University of Chicago (CDD).

Rcklufiges Verzeichnis der in den Abschnitten 02, 03 und 05 der WrterListen in der Fassung vom 13. Oktober 2010 enthaltenen Namen und Wrter

Henry George Liddell & Robert Scott, A Greek-English Lexicon. Revised and augmented throughout by Sir Henry Stuart Jones with the assistance of Roderick McKenzie. Oxford, Clarendon Press, 1940.

Logeion was developed to provide simultaneous lookup of entries in many Greek and Latin dictionaries. Dictionaries include the Perseus Classical collection (Liddell and Scott's Greek-English Lexicon (1940); Liddell and Scott's Intermediate Greek Lexicon (1889); Autenrieth's Homeric Dictionary (1891); Lewis and Short's Latin-English Lexicon (1879); Lewis's Elementary Latin Dictionary (1890)) as well as The Diccionario Griego-Espaol Project, Du Cange, et al., Glossarium medi et infim latinitatis (1883-1887), Basiswoordenlijst Latijn (1975), and Pinksters Woordenboek Latijn/Nederlands (2011).

The project Poorly Attested Words in Ancient Greek (PAWAG) has the aim of setting up a database in the form of an electronic dictionary that gathers together words of Ancient Greek that are either only scantily attested (i.e. with one or few occurrences), inadequately (i.e.characterized by some sort of uncertainty) or in any case problematically, both from a formal and semantic point of view.

The project is open to international collaboration and the archive will be drawn up through progressive expansion both in the number of entries and their contents, with gradual correction and updating and elimination of any ghost-word.

The database is available free and offers a scientific tool for scholars in the research on classical world as well as a supplement to the existing dictionaries of ancient Greek (in which satisfactory attention can hardly be paid to the complex field of Poorly Attested Words), in order to make a contribution to future improvement of Greek lexicography.
From their website

by D. Hagedorn. 14. Fassung vom 13. Oktober 2010 Word lists of recent volumes of papyri and ostraca, compiled under the direction of D. Hagedorn, covering publications not included in the CD-ROM of the DDDBDP.

The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.

The dictionary was written and developed by a team of linguists and software developers headed by the renowned computational linguist, Prof. Yaacov Choueka, within the Center for Educational Technology, Israel's biggest firm for educational software and technology. ... In both printed form and computerized form, it is a friendly tool that is easy to use, yet it is comprehensive and includes all strata of the Hebrew language, from the Biblical to current Israeli slang. The printed edition consists of six large volumes; The computerized version packs all this information into a web site with a friendly interface, and moreover, supplements the dictionary with intelligent linguistic tools that can not only find and retrieve any of Hebrew's 70 million inflected forms, but supply upon the pressing of a button several outstanding functions.
From their Website

320,000 words and phrases, 520,000 translations

The EAGLL offers a systematic and comprehensive treatment of all aspects of the history and study of Ancient Greek, comprising detailed descriptions of the language from Proto-Greek to koine. It addresses linguistic aspects from several perspectives, including history, structure, individual singularities, biographical references, schools of thought, technical meta-language, sociolinguistic issues, dialects, didactics, translation practices, generic issues, Greek in relation to other languages, etc., and on all levels of analysis including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, lexicon, semantics, stylistics, etc. It also includes all the necessary background information regarding the roots of Greek in Indo-European. As and when, excursions may be made to later stages of the language, e.g. Byzantine or even later.

The entire text of Metzler's Der neue Pauly, which was published in 18 volumes (13 on Antiquity, 5 on the Classical Tradition) and one index volume, is available here together with all volumes of Brill's New Pauly now in print, with regular updates when new translations become available. Advanced search functions, complimented by keyword and subject indices, enable the user to search and combine data efficiently from a vast corpus of over 27,000 entries and sub-entries. The guiding principle in developing the online version of the New Pauly was to supply its users with exactly the same information the book itself would provide, while improving their ability to search and, consequently, use the information.

For almost half a century, The Oxford Classical Dictionary has been regarded as the unrivalled one-volume reference work on all aspects of the Graeco-Roman world. It provides both scholars and non-specialists with a comprehensive source of reference which aims to answer all their questions about the classical world. Written by the very best of classical scholars from all over the world, the Dictionary provides coverage of Greek and Roman history, literature, myth, religion, linguistics, philosophy, law, science, art and archaeology, and topics in near eastern studies and late antiquity. (Description from Oxford website.)

Print: Call number: CS2349.L48 1987 RR4Cla
The Lexicon of Greek Personal Names was established in 1972 as a Major Research Project of the British Academy to collect and publish with documentation all known ancient Greek personal names (including non-Greek names recorded in Greek, and Greek names in Latin), drawn from all available sources (literature, inscriptions, graffiti, papyri, coins, vases and other artefacts), within the period from the earliest Greek written records down to, approximately, the sixth century A.D.

A database of placenames of Graeco-Roman Egypt by the Fayum Project of the KULeuven and the project
Multilingualism and Multiculturalism in Graeco-Roman Egypt.

Indexes all aspects of classical studies, including authors and texts, literature, linguistics, archaeology, epigraphy and numismatics, history, philosophy, science, and technology.

The Online Egyptological Bibliography (OEB) holds the largest available collection of references in Egyptological literature. It includes the volumes of the Annual Egyptological Bibliography (AEB) for 1947 to 2001 with abstracts, combined with Bibliographie Altgypten (BA) for 1822 to 1946, the Aigyptos database with keywords, and many thousands of more recently added records. It provides coverage of Egyptological literature from 1822 to the present and is updated nearly every day.

ed. J.F. Oates, R.S. Bagnall, S.J. Clackson, A.A. OBrien, J.D. Sosin, T.G. Wilfong and K.A. Worp. The current print version is the 5th, BASP Suppl. 9 (2001). [Oxbow]. Z6604.C47 2001 RR4Cla
The Web version is kept current by J.F. Oates and J.D. Sosin.

See Search Tips and Otehr Information.

"The Mertens-Pack 3 database provides access to information and bibliographic details of 6000 Greek and Latin literary papyri. The original project was started in 1952 by Professor Paul Mertens. Although the database is described as experimental, it is a very powerful tool for locating information about papyri; not only their authors and titles but which bibliographical entity papyrus dispersed amongst different collections belong to. One of the themed searches offered by the database is medici and medica which provides access to bibliographic information about medical papyri. More information on the project and how to use the database is also available on the site. Click on the 'MP3 Database' heading and scroll down to 'online experimental database' link to begin your search. The website is also available in French and there are a number of additional selected bibliographies, including Alexandria Docta and Pharmacopoea Aegyptia et Graeco-Aegyptia."

An online bibliography to facilitate searches in Trismegistos Texts and related databases. TM is an interdisciplinary portal of papyrological and epigraphical resources
dealing with Egypt and the Nile valley between roughly 800 BC and AD 800

The Demotistische Literaturbersicht, featured in the journal Enchoria since the first issue of 1971, has become a standard tool for Demotists in search of secondary literature.