Books - General
-
A History of Continental Criminal Procedure: With Special Reference to France
by
Call Number: D'Angelo Law, XXKJC9400.E83 2000 -
A World View of Criminal Justice
by
Call Number: D'Angelo Law, XXK5001 .V65 2005Covers inquisitorial and adversarial systems in Europe, China, Latin America; also covers Islamic criminal justice and the European jury. -
Adversarial Versus Inquisitorial Justice: Psychological Perspectives on Criminal Justice Systems
by
Call Number: D'Angelo Law, HV7419.A384 2003Compares the two systems, American and European approaches to police investigation (including coverage of search and seizure and interrogation). Covers police interrogations in England and the Netherlands, the death penalty in the U.S., recovered memories in court, cross-examination of witnesses, children in court, expert evidence in the Netherlands and the U.S., and expert witnesses in Europe and the U.S.. -
Comparative and International Criminal Justice: Traditional and Nontraditional Systems of Law and Control
by
Call Number: D'Angelo Law, HV7419.F54 2005Focuses on specialized topics in the area such as cross-national crime, international terrorism, organized crime, policing, corrections, juvenile justice, etc. Includes a section on "Law and Justice: Judicial Systems - Formal and Informal" which covers uniform sentencing in Denmark and Scotland, justice in the southern Philippines and post-British Nigeria, three Islamic legal systems (traditional Saudi Arabia, contemporary Bahrain, and evolving Pakistan), and a comparative perspective on the privilege against self-incrimination. -
Comparative Criminal Justice
by
Call Number: D'Angelo Law, HV7419.P35 2010ISBN: 9781843927709Publication Date: 2010-02-01Discusses the reasons to study criminal justice comparatively and methods of comparative research. Has chapters on comparative policing, prosecution and pre-trial justice, systems of trials, judges, juries, punishment, fairness and effectiveness, prisons, the death penalty, international and transnational criminal justice, terrorism, cybercrime, and the evolution of criminal justice systems. -
Comparative Criminal Procedure
by
Call Number: D'Angelo Law, XXKJC9405.C65 1996ISBN: 0903067390Includes an overview chapter on comparative criminal procedure followed by separate chapters on criminal procedure in France, Germany, England and Wales, and a chapter on comparison between the three jurisdictions. Each country chapter covers Source of Criminal Procedure; General Principles Governing Criminal Procedure; Rights of the Accused; Phases of the Criminal Process (police investigation, judicial investigation, trial, appeals); Agencies Involved in the Criminal Justice System; Other Participants in the Criminal Process; Sources of Evidence; Finality; Special Forms of Procedure; Consensual Disposal; and Proposals for Reform. -
Contrasting Criminal Justice: Getting from Here to There
by
Call Number: D'Angelo Law, XXK5001.C668 2000Covers various aspects of criminal justice in England and Wales, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, the Netherlands, Spain, and the U.S. -
Crime and Criminal Justice in Europe
Call Number: D'Angelo Law, XXKJC9430.A6C756 2000Includes chapters on restorative justice, crime prevention, emerging issues, new criminal legislation, policing, the prosecution process and the changing role of the prosecutor, sentencing, community sanctions, prisons. -
Criminal Justice Between Crime Control and Due Process: Convergence and Divergence in Criminal Procedure Systems byCall Number: D'Angelo Law, XXK5460.A6 S77 2004Includes English-language articles on general and specific aspects of criminal procedure in England and Wales, Denmark, Germany, Italy, Russia, Scotland.
-
Criminal Justice in Europe: A Comparative Study
by
Call Number: D'Angelo Law, XXKJC9430.C750 1995ISBN: 0198258070Covers convergence and Europeanization of criminal procedure law in the Netherlands and the UK. -
European Criminal Procedures
by
Call Number: D'Angelo Law, XXKJC9405.P7613 2002ISBN: 0521591104Covers criminal procedure in Belgium, England, France, Germany, and Italy. Has a section on special issues such as The Public Prosecutor; The Balance of Power Between the Police and the Public Prosecutor; The Role of the Judge; Private Parties: The Rights of the Defendant and the Victim; Evidence; Negotiated Justice; and Justice and the Media. English version of Procédures pénales d'Europe (1995). Introduction includes an historical overview of the development of criminal procedure in Europe. -
Global Constitutionalism: Criminal Procedure, Courts and Politics byCall Number: XXK3165.G575 c.1 v.5 2000Covers "the right to silence and the privilege against self-incrimination, the right to confront witnesses, and the relationship between the media and the courts in criminal cases" with illustrative cases from the Australia, Canada, England and Wales, the European Court of Human Rights (ECHR), Germany, Israel, Italy, the International Criminal Tribunal for Yugoslavia (ICTY), and the United States.
-
Crime and Criminal Justice Systems in Europe and North America, 1995-2004
by
Call Number: D'Angelo Law, HV9960.E85C742 2008ISBN: 9525333361 -
Major Criminal Justice Systems: A Comparative Survey byCall Number: D'Angelo Law, XXK5001.Z9M340 1987Covers criminal procedure law in England, the Federal Republic of Germany, Japan, Nigeria, the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR), Sweden, and the United States. Includes an extensive bibliography of books and articles in English at pages 262-285.
-
Pre-Trial Detention in the European Union byCall Number: D'Angelo Law, XXKJC9552.P74 2009Includes a useful introductory summary and comprehensive reports on pre-trial criminal procedure in twenty-seven European Union member states.
-
Crime, Procedure and Evidence in a Comparative and International Context: Essays in Honour of Professor Mirjan Damaška
by
Call Number: D'Angelo Law, XXK5015.C756 2008 -
Fair Trials: The European Criminal Procedural Tradition and the European Court of Human Rights
by
Call Number: D'Angelo Law, XXKJC9485.S86 2007 -
Criminal Procedure in Europe
by
Call Number: D'Angelo Law, XXKJC9405.C754 2008Includes chapters on England, Wales, France, Germany, the Netherlands, Slovenia, & Spain. -
The Trial on Trial
by
Call Number: D'Angelo Law, XXKF5460.A6T75 2004 v.1-3 -
The Accused: A Comparative Study byCall Number: D'Angelo Law, XXK5414.A33 1966Covers pre-trial procedure in England, Scotland; criminal defendant in the U.S.; administration of criminal justice in Northern Ireland; the preliminary hearing in Ireland; and criminal procedure in New Zealand, Malaysia, former British Commonwealth dependencies, Israel, South Africa, France, former French territories in Africa, Germany, Poland, the U.S.S.R., defense rights in ex-Belgian Congo.
-
Comparative Criminal Procedure: History, Processes, and Case Studies
by
Call Number: D'Angelo Law, XXK5401.M33 2008 -
Wrongful Conviction: International Perspectives on Miscarriages of Justice
by
Call Number: D'Angelo Law, XXK5560.W76 2008ISBN: 1592136451 -
The Structure of Criminal Procedure: Laws and Practice of France, the Soviet Union, China, and the United States
by
Call Number: D'Angelo Law, XXK5401.I540 1987ISBN: 0313254311Compares procedures for intake, screening, charging, adjudicating, sanctioning, and appeal. References relevant constitutional provisions, statutes, codes for each country on pretrial detention, searches and seizures, notice of charges and evidence against defendant, right of counsel, self-incrimination, non-public adjudication, double jeopardy, and right of appeal. -
Comparative Criminal Justice Systems
by
Call Number: D'Angelo Law, HV7419.F35 2014ISBN: 9781285067865Publication Date: 2013-01-04Covers six model nations: England, France, Germany, China, Japan, and Saudi Arabia. Includes further reading, webpages, a glossary, and an extensive bibliography. Covers juvenile justice. -
Practical Global Criminal Procedure
by
Call Number: D'Angelo Law, XXK5401.G78 2012 c.1ISBN: 1594604592Publication Date: 2012-06-01 -
Comparative Criminal Procedure byCall Number: D'Angelo Law, XXK5401.M845 1969Includes chapters on general history of continental criminal procedure and overview of comparative criminal procedure ("Lessons of Comparative Criminal Procedure" covers arrest, probable cause, trial, victims), on judicial supervision of pre-trial procedure, preliminary investigation by magistrates, nonpunitive detention, judicial fitness, and jurisdiction over crimes committed abroad or with aircraft.
-
Comparative Criminal Justice Systems
by
Call Number: D'Angelo Law, XXK5001.S52 2012ISBN: 9781449604257Publication Date: 2012-09-19Covers Australia, Canada, US, UK, Germany, Iran, Saudi Arabia, China, and Pakistan. Covers generally Asia, Africa, Latin America, and Islamic (Shari’a Law) criminal justice systems.
Books
-
A History of Continental Criminal Procedure: With Special Reference to France byCall Number: D'Angelo Law, XXKJC9400.E83 2000
-
A World View of Criminal Justice byCall Number: D'Angelo Law, XXK5001 .V65 2005Covers inquisitorial and adversarial systems in Europe, China, Latin America; also covers Islamic criminal justice and the European jury.
-
Adversarial Versus Inquisitorial Justice: Psychological Perspectives on Criminal Justice Systems byCall Number: D'Angelo Law, HV7419.A384 2003Compares the two systems, American and European approaches to police investigation (including coverage of search and seizure and interrogation). Covers police interrogations in England and the Netherlands, the death penalty in the U.S., recovered memories in court, cross-examination of witnesses, children in court, expert evidence in the Netherlands and the U.S., and expert witnesses in Europe and the U.S..
-
Comparative and International Criminal Justice: Traditional and Nontraditional Systems of Law and Control byCall Number: D'Angelo Law, HV7419.F54 2005Focuses on specialized topics in the area such as cross-national crime, international terrorism, organized crime, policing, corrections, juvenile justice, etc. Includes a section on "Law and Justice: Judicial Systems - Formal and Informal" which covers uniform sentencing in Denmark and Scotland, justice in the southern Philippines and post-British Nigeria, three Islamic legal systems (traditional Saudi Arabia, contemporary Bahrain, and evolving Pakistan), and a comparative perspective on the privilege against self-incrimination.
-
Comparative Criminal Justice byCall Number: D'Angelo Law, HV7419.P35 2004Discusses the reasons to study criminal justice comparatively and methods of comparative research. Has chapters on comparative policing, prosecution and pre-trial justice, systems of trials, judges, juries, punishment, fairness and effectiveness, prisons, the death penalty, international and transnational criminal justice, terrorism, cybercrime, and the evolution of criminal justice systems.
-
Comparative Criminal Procedure byCall Number: D'Angelo Law, XXKJC9405.C65 1996Includes an overview chapter on comparative criminal procedure followed by separate chapters on criminal procedure in France, Germany, England and Wales, and a chapter on comparison between the three jurisdictions. Each country chapter covers Source of Criminal Procedure; General Principles Governing Criminal Procedure; Rights of the Accused; Phases of the Criminal Process (police investigation, judicial investigation, trial, appeals); Agencies Involved in the Criminal Justice System; Other Participants in the Criminal Process; Sources of Evidence; Finality; Special Forms of Procedure; Consensual Disposal; and Proposals for Reform.
-
Contrasting Criminal Justice: Getting from Here to There byCall Number: D'Angelo Law, XXK5001.C668 2000Covers various aspects of criminal justice in England and Wales, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, the Netherlands, Spain, and the U.S.
-
Crime and Criminal Justice in EuropeCall Number: D'Angelo Law, XXKJC9430.A6C756 2000Includes chapters on restorative justice, crime prevention, emerging issues, new criminal legislation, policing, the prosecution process and the changing role of the prosecutor, sentencing, community sanctions, prisons.
-
Criminal Justice Between Crime Control and Due Process: Convergence and Divergence in Criminal Procedure Systems byCall Number: D'Angelo Law, XXK5460.A6 S77 2004Includes English-language articles on general and specific aspects of criminal procedure in England and Wales, Denmark, Germany, Italy, Russia, Scotland.
-
Criminal Justice in Europe: A Comparative Study byCall Number: D'Angelo Law, XXKJC9430.C750 1995Covers convergence and Europeanization of criminal procedure law in the Netherlands and the UK.
-
Criminal Justice in the United States and Germany: History, Modernization, and Reform byCall Number: D'Angelo Law, XXK5001.C754 2006
-
Criminal Prosecution Procedure and Practice: International Perspectives byCall Number: D'Angelo Law, XXK5001.A5B79 2000Covers adversarial and inquisitorial models of criminal justice, public and private prosecutors, prosecution structures, accountability and independence of prosecutors, equity and fairness, for Northern Ireland, England and Wales, Scotland, the Republic of Ireland, France, the Netherlands, Belgium, New Zealand, Australia, Canada, and the U.S.
-
European Criminal Procedures byCall Number: D'Angelo Law, XXKJC9405.P7613 2002Covers criminal procedure in Belgium, England, France, Germany, and Italy. Has a section on special issues such as The Public Prosecutor; The Balance of Power Between the Police and the Public Prosecutor; The Role of the Judge; Private Parties: The Rights of the Defendant and the Victim; Evidence; Negotiated Justice; and Justice and the Media. English version of Procédures pénales d'Europe (1995). Introduction includes an historical overview of the development of criminal procedure in Europe.
-
Global Constitutionalism: Criminal Procedure, Courts and Politics byCall Number: D'Angelo Law, HV7419.F54 2005Covers "the right to silence and the privilege against self-incrimination, the right to confront witnesses, and the relationship between the media and the courts in criminal cases" with illustrative cases from the Australia, Canada, England and Wales, the European Court of Human Rights (ECHR), Germany, Israel, Italy, the International Criminal Tribunal for Yugoslavia (ICTY), and the United States.
-
Major Criminal Justice Systems: A Comparative Survey byCall Number: D'Angelo Law, XXK5001.Z9M340 1987Covers criminal procedure law in England, the Federal Republic of Germany, Japan, Nigeria, the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR), Sweden, and the United States. Includes an extensive bibliography of books and articles in English at pages 262-285.
-
Crime, Procedure and Evidence in a Comparative and International Context: Essays in Honour of Professor Mirjan Damaška
by
Call Number: D'Angelo Law, XXK5015.C756 2008
-
Criminal Procedure in Europe
by
Call Number: D'Angelo Law, XXKJC9405.C754 2008Includes chapters on England, Wales, France, Germany, the Netherlands, Slovenia, & Spain.
-
The Accused: A Comparative Study byCall Number: D'Angelo Law, XXK5414.A33 1966Covers pre-trial procedure in England, Scotland; criminal defendant in the U.S.; administration of criminal justice in Northern Ireland; the preliminary hearing in Ireland; and criminal procedure in New Zealand, Malaysia, former British Commonwealth dependencies, Israel, South Africa, France, former French territories in Africa, Germany, Poland, the U.S.S.R., defense rights in ex-Belgian Congo.
-
The Role of the Public Prosecution Office in a Democratic SocietyCall Number: D'Angelo Law, XXKJC3728.R654Covers policing, corrections, juvenile justice, and general criminal procedures in various countries such as Australia, China, France, Germany, Great Britain, Japan, Nigeria, Poland, Saudi Arabia, and the U.S. Includes a chapter on comparing crimes rates, with reference to sources of international crime statistics. Each chapter concludes with suggested readings, websites, and bibliographic references.
-
The Structure of Criminal Procedure: Laws and Practice of France, the Soviet Union, China, and the United States byCall Number: D'Angelo Law, XXK5401.I540 1987Compares procedures for intake, screening, charging, adjudicating, sanctioning, and appeal. References relevant constitutional provisions, statutes, codes for each country on pretrial detention, searches and seizures, notice of charges and evidence against defendant, right of counsel, self-incrimination, non-public adjudication, double jeopardy, and right of appeal.
-
What Public Prosecution in Europe in the 21st CenturyCall Number: D'Angelo Law, XXKJC9430.A6W438 2000
-
Comparative Criminal Procedure byCall Number: D'Angelo Law, XXK5401.M845 1969Includes chapters on general history of continental criminal procedure and overview of comparative criminal procedure ("Lessons of Comparative Criminal Procedure" covers arrest, probable cause, trial, victims), on judicial supervision of pre-trial procedure, preliminary investigation by magistrates, nonpunitive detention, judicial fitness, and jurisdiction over crimes committed abroad or with aircraft.
Journal Articles - General
-
John H. Langbein & Lloyd L. Weinreb, "Continental Criminal Procedure: 'Myth' and 'Reality'"87 Yale Law Journal 1549-1569 (1978).
-
Erik Luna, "A Place for Comparative Criminal Procedure"42 Brandeis Law Journal 277 (2003).
-
Yue Ma, "Prosecutorial Discretion and Plea Bargaining in the United States, France, Germany, and Italy: A Comparative Perspective"12 International Criminal Justice Review 22-52 (2002).
-
Paul Roberts, "On Method: The Ascent of Comparative Criminal Justice"22 Oxford Journal of Legal Studies 539 (2002).
Book Chapters - General
Hugo Adam Bedau. "Capital Punishment," 1 Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice 133-143.
Mirjan Damaska. "Adversary System," 1 Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice 25-31.
Dayanath C. Jayasuriya & Yasantha Kodagoda. "Criminal Procedures," 1 Legal Systems of the World: A Political, Social, and Cultural Encyclopedia 381-384.
Andre Klip. "European Criminal Procedure," European Criminal Law: An Integrative Approach 209.
Andre Klip. "European Sentencing and Penitentiary Law," European Criminal Law: An Integrative Approach 289.
K. Levine & M Feeley. "Prosecution," 18 International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences 12,224-12,230.
Peter Lewisch. "Criminal Procedure," 5 Encyclopedia of Law and Economics 241-260.
Laura Nader. "Comparative Criminal Law and Enforcement: Pre-Literate Societies," 1 Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice 199-207.
Alenka Selih. "The Prosecution Process and the (Changing) Role of the Prosecutor," in Crime and Criminal Justice in Europe 199-207.
Stephen C. Thaman. "Comparative Criminal Law and Enforcement," 1 Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice 207-218.
Thomas Weigend. "Criminal Law and Criminal Procedure," Elgar Encyclopedia of Comparative Law 214-227.
Thomas Weigend. "Criminal Procedure: Comparative Aspects," 1 Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice 444-457.
Thomas Weigend. "Prosecution: Comparative Aspects," 1 Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice 1232-1242.
Finding Books
-
University of Chicago Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowYour starting point for identifying and locating books, treatises and journal titles in the print and electronic collections of the D'Angelo Law Library and other campus libraries.
-
WorldCat (OCLC) This link opens in a new windowA catalog containing the holdings of thousands of libraries worldwide. Use to determine other libraries that own a resource and for initiating an interlibrary loan request.