Library Guides: Women's Studies: Television & Films

Streaming

Docuseek This link opens in a new window
Several collections of films and documentaries of interest to Women's Studies. Under Subjects, select "Gender Studies".
Docuseek2 provides exclusive educational streaming access to documentary and social issue films from Bullfrog Films, Collective Eye Films, Icarus Films (including The Fanlight Collection and dGenerate Films), Kartemquin Films, Scorpion TV, Sincerely Films, Terra Nova Films and Villon Films
Counseling and Therapy in Video: Volumes 1 & 2 This link opens in a new window
Includes videos on a broad variety of therapies focusing on sexuality and gender.
Contains footage from actual therapy sessions, training videos, reenactments conducted by renowned counseling professionals and documentaries on the human condition.
Education in Video This link opens in a new window
Includes videos focusing on gender equity in education, focusing primarily on K-12.
A collection of streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers. Contains teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms.
Ethnographic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Contains a broad range of anthropology videos, including documentaries focusing on gender roles and traditions in different cultures.
Part of Alexander Street Press's "Anthropology," which brings together a wide range of ethnographic documentaries, indigenous media, field notes, study guides and raw footage, covering human behavior the world over.
Meet the Press Online This link opens in a new window
The complete archive of the news program "Meet the Press". Great for interviews of prominent women--especially in politics.
Meet the Press from Alexander Street Press opens up a wealth of information to libraries by making over 1,500 hours of footagethe full surviving broadcast run to dateavailable online in one cross-searchable interface. Since its television premiere in 1947, Meet the Press has cemented its position as an institution in broadcast journalism. For the first time ever, network televisions longest running programwith its thousands of interviews, panels, and debatesis available via streaming online video. Now, students and scholars have unprecedented access to this treasure trove of material, including many episodes not seen since their original broadcast.
From their website
C-SPAN Video Library This link opens in a new window
The complete archive of the network, including congressional debates and hearings.
The complete video archive of the C-SPAN cable network. Congressional debates, hearing, presidential speeches, and more.

DVDs

Many of the Library's DVDs are shelved in the 2nd and 3rd floor of Regenstein Library. Several other campus libraries have video collections, including D'Angelo Law Library, Crerar, and Social Services Administration (SSA) Library. Loan periods vary by library.

Use the Library Catalog to search for specific films. Use the Advanced Search feature to limit to DVDs. You can add keywords, title keywords, subject terms, or director (under "author").

University of Chicago Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Find items in all campus libraries, including books, periodicals, sound recordings, videos, DVDs and more.