(1984-present): A good starting place for mostly English-language articles on topics from classical art through 21st-century performance artists.
Indexing and abstracting database which corresponds to Art Index (Z5931.A75), indexing more than 300 key, international arts publications. (1984-present): A good starting place for mostly English-language articles on topics from classical art through 21st-century performance artists.
Coverage from 1929 to 1984. The predecessor of Art Abstracts. Use the "art reproductions" limit to identify works of art that appear as illustrations in indexed articles.
Indexing of 260 international art publications, including English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, Japanese, Dutch, and Swedish.
Coverage from 1973 to 2007. Most comprehensive of the art indexes, covering the post-Classical period to the present, with an emphasis on Western Europe. BHA ceased in 2008. The database corresponds to BHA: Bibliography of the history of art = Bibliographie d'histoire de l'art issued since 1990 (Z5937.B2); it also incorporates RILA: International Repertory of the Literature of Art (1974-1990) in its entirety (Z5937.R2); and the segment of Repertoire d'art et d'archaeologie that was published between 1973 and 1989.
The Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) is a database created by the J. Paul Getty Trust's Art History Information Program (AHIP) in conjunction with the Institut de l'Information Scientifique et Technique (INIST) of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique. It contains abstracts and indexes of current publications in the history of art, including scholarly journals, conferences, book, exhibition reviews, and exhibition catalogues. The records consist of bibliographic citations, abstracts, and indexing; abstracts may be in English or in French, index terms (descriptors) are in both English and French.
(1934-present, with selective records dating to the 1860s): Articles and book reviews on architecture, interior design, city planning and individual architects.
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals database offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions on subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. It contains over seven hundred American and international journals including not only scholarly and popular periodical literature, but also publications of professional associations, American state and regional periodicals, and the major serials on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Articles are included from key publications such as American Architect, Domus, Dwell, and El Croquis, as well as architectural articles from art and planning journals such as Burlington Magazine, Journal of Green Building, Metropolitan Museum Journal, and Urban Land. Avery Index also contains references to more than 13,000 obituary citations thereby providing architects, architectural historians, and researchers with an excellent source of biographical and professional information about architects. Among the obituaries indexed are those from four crucial American periodicals since their inception: American Architect (1876), Architectural Forum (1892), Architectural Record (1891), and Progressive Architecture (1920). The Journal of the Royal Institute of British Architects is indexed as far back as 1865, providing an extensive record of English architects.
Search articles on design and craft from the beginning of the twentieth century until 1986.
Art History Research net [AHR net] is an art history research service consisting of five related and linked databases:
ReView - Contains the full text of a wide range of International Art and Architecture journals published between the 1860s and the 1930s
Arts + Architecture Profiles - Contains biographical data on nearly 45,000 artists, architects, designers and craftspeople
Design Abstracts Retrospective - Contains abstracts of articles and an index of images in design journals published between 1900-1986
Research Sources: 1: British & Irish Architecture and Decorative and Applied Arts 1850s to the 1930s - This is an ongoing project to digitize every book, exhibition catalogue, pamphlet and conference paper, as well as much of the journal literature published in Britain and Ireland during the late nineteenth century and early years of the twentieth century
Research Sources: 2. The Poster - Contains extensive research data on the history of the Poster
(1973-present). Articles on contemporary design and craft from journals and newspapers. Includes conference reports, and book, video and exhibition reviews.
The Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI) contains over 130,000 annotated references from more than 500 design and craft journals and newspapers published from 1973 onwards, and data on over 50,000 designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops, firms etc., making it the largest index of its kind in the world.
Indexes 42 art journals published in the US during the 19th century.
Covering 42 periodicals published in the United States during the 19th century, this database is the sole online index to virtually all the art journals published in that period. The entire contents of each issue is indexedarticles, art notes, illustrations, stories, poems, and advertisements. This makes the Index to 19th-Century American Art Periodicalsin addition to its coverage of artists and illustrators, painting, sculpture, drawing, photography, architecture and design, exhibitions and sales, decoration, and collectinga highly valuable source of information on popular culture and industry.
References western-language periodical articles, monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, and anthologies on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.
Contains information on a wide range of multilingual, multicultural sources, including books and over 4,000 journals. The range of subjects covered include the humanities, social sciences, and economics. It is strong in religion, the history of art and literature, with particular emphasis on current trends in European and world literature.
An international and interdisciplinary bibliography of academic periodical literature mainly from the Humanities, Social Sciences and Arts. Indexes from about 11,500 journals covering the years 1983 to the present. De Gruyter.
Indexes literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books, journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogs, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for dissertation abstracts, and essays in books.
Interdisciplinary bibliography of the European Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 400-1500. Contains records for articles from periodicals, conference proceedings, exhibition catalogues, etc. published world-wide.
Click on the box labeled "mit IP-Zugang" before beginning. The fields are case-sensitive.
DYABOLA is software whereby one can search library subject catalogues, inventories of books, photographic archives and any other form of text and image documents. Go to DYABOLA to search the Realkatalog of the DAI (German Archaeological Institute) in Rome, the Census of Antique Works of Art and Architecture Known in the Renaissance, and Datenbank der attischen Grabreliefs des 5. und 4. Jahrhunderts v. Chr.).
Zentraler Online-Katalog des Deutschen Archologischen Instituts. ZENON indexes books and articles based on the subject catalogues of the offices of the German Archaeological Institute. Guide to Zenon DAI is available from the Clark Art Institute.