The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online is the first comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. More than 9,000 pages of material, combined with entries by more than 700 worldwide contributors, make this the most complete body of work focused on world music. Currently includes 1,217 essays, multiple images, and hundreds of audio examples.
Parent database for Grove Music Online, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, The Oxford Companion to Music, and the Encyclopedia of Popular Music. Searching can be done on a single source within this parent database or one can search across two or more sources.
Parent database for Grove Music Online, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, The Oxford Companion to Music, and the Encyclopedia of Popular Music. Searching can be done on a single source within this parent database or one can search across two or more sources.
All searches are done on the full text.
This database provides access to about 50,000 songs in more than 1,500 published song anthologies owned by the Music Library at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville.
The Petrucci Music Library from the IMSLP (International Music Score Library Project) includes 500,000 scores that were published before 1923 and thus lie within the public domain. These scores are available as PDF files and can be downloaded to a computer or thumb drive. Additionally, 3,000 recordings are available as streamed audio files.
Music Manuscripts and Print Editions: Sources & General Information
The Hill Museum & Manuscript Library produces preservation microfilms of manuscript collections across Europe, Ethiopia, the Middle East, and south India.
This online-catalog offers around 700,000 references almost exclusively to music manuscripts. These records represent works of some 25,000 composers. The original sources are preserved in the libraries and archives of 32 countries. Graphical images of the music incipits and the location of the holding libraries are provided.
The Thesaurus Musicarum Latinarum is a database seeking to represent the entire corpus of Latin music theory works written during the Middle Ages and the Renaissance.
The Musical Festivals Database (MFD) is a fully-searchable index of programs, personnel, ensembles and venues of musical festivals held between 1695 and 1940. MFD allows users to search repertoire, personnel, location, venue, and other categories of information for over a thousand musical festivals held in Great Britain between 1695 and 1940.
