Biographical Websites for Physicians and Other Medical Researchers
The following are just a few links to resources available on the web containing biographical information on physicians.
You may also find biographical information by searching article and other databases. The following databases are good choices for searching for medical biography:
- PubMed
- Web of Science (many journals indexed contain obituaries)
- Newspapers (newspapers and news databases on this page are a good source for obituaries and other information)
Biographies of Physicians and Surgeons
The following are just a few of the reference books about physicians and other figures in the field of medicine available. The Library also collects biographies and autobiographies of individual physicians. Consult the library catalog or contact me for help in finding additional titles.
- A biographical dictionary of women healers : midwives, nurses, and physiciansCrerar, 1st Floor Reference Collection R692 .B52 2002
- Dictionary of American medical biography; lives of eminent physicians of the United States and Canada, from the earliest timesCrerar, 1st Floor Reference Collection R153.K31
- A bibliography of medical and bio-medical biographyCrerar, 1st Floor Reference Collection Z6660.5.M671 2005
- Biographical dictionary of medicineCrerar, 1st Floor Reference Collection R134.B4550 1990
- African-American medical pioneersCrerar, Bookstacks R695.E670 1994
- Biographies of physicians and surgeons.Crerar, 1st Floor Reference Collection R153.B5
This resource focuses on physicians in Chicago prior to 1905. - The American physician and surgeon blue book [microform] : a distinct cyclopedia of ... medical biographies.Crerar, Microforms R153.A547 1919
Subject Specialist
Andrea Twiss-Brooks
she/her
Contact:
Director, Humanities and Area Studies
Chemistry and
Geophysical Sciences
Chat with an available librarian using Ask Me
Chemistry and
Geophysical Sciences
Chat with an available librarian using Ask Me