Library Guides: Education: Articles & Journals

Quick Links

Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Web version of the major news source for college and university faculty members and administrators. Includes academic postings.

Inside Higher Ed

Find Journals

Find online access to journals, newspapers and magazines.

If you do not find the journal online, you may request a copy of the article via our Scan and Deliver service.

Open Access Publications

Directory of Open Access Journals
Directory of more than 8,000 free, full-text, peer-reviewed journals from many disciplines.

Article Databases

ERIC This link opens in a new window
(1966-) Funded by the U.S. Department of Education, ERIC is the largest education database in the world. Along with indexing thousands of journals, ERIC also includes other materials (reports, curricula, conference papers, etc.) known as ERIC Documents (ED). ERIC's advanced search limits results by education level, audience, source type, and more. Use Find It! to locate full-text of journal articles. ERIC includes full-text for most ERIC documents. Those not available online can be accessed on microfiche (B Level of Regenstein). The ED number in the ERIC record is needed to use the fiche.
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES), U.S. Department of Education. Since 1966, ERIC has indexed journals, research reports, conference papers, curriculum guides and publications of organizations. Full-text of older ERIC documents (non-journal material) are often available on microfiche; note the Accession Number beginning with ED in the ERIC record. The ERIC microfiche is located on the Regenstein B-level.
Education Index Retrospective, 1929-1983 This link opens in a new window
Indexes some 500 historical education periodicals.
Covering a century of research, this database provides cover-to-cover indexing for an international range of English-language periodicals and yearbooks. It includes accurate, detailed, cover-to-cover indexing of some 500 periodicals, as far back as 1929 through 1983.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Helpful for learning theory, educational psychology, and child development, as well as school counseling.
Bibliographic database of scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. PsycINFO covers journals, books, reviews, and dissertations.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Specialized collection of journals designed for professional educators.
Specialized collection of journals designed for professional educators. Full-text is included for approximately 500 titles, with some content dating as far back as 1965.

Related Fields

Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Societal impacts on education.
Provides access to research in sociology and related disciplines. Includes citations since 1963 (and abstracts since 1974) for articles in over 1,500 journals.
PAIS International This link opens in a new window
Public policy database. Good for research on policy issues related to education. International focus.
Provides selective subject and bibliographic access to periodicals, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, Internet resources, and other publications from 120 countries.
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
School support services, counseling, and advising.
Since 1980, provides bibliographic coverage of research on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Abstracts and indexes including citations to dissertations and book reviews.

Interdisciplinary Resources

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is an interdisciplinary, bibliographic database that indexes the contents of more than 29,000 journals in the physical sciences, engineering, earth and environmental sciences, life and health sciences, social sciences, psychology, business, and management.

Scopus also features cited references and can be searched for articles that cite a specific article.
Articles Plus This link opens in a new window
Articles Plus allows simultaneous searching of a broad range of articles, books, book reviews, and other collections, including:
Hundreds of the Librarys article databases
Over 40,000 journals and periodicals
The University of Chicago Library catalog
Digitized collections of documents and images from many organizations

Librarian

Rebecca Starkey

she / her

Send Email

Contact:

Director of Teaching and Academic Engagement

Subject Areas: Education, Library Science

Regenstein Library, Room 367

773-702-4484

Subjects: Education, Library Science, Social Sciences