Medieval & Byzantine Studies

Find items in all campus libraries, including books, periodicals, sound recordings, videos, DVDs and more.

WorldCat is a database that allows researchers to search the combined catalogs of hundreds of libraries around the world. It contains more than 52 million records for books, journals, audiovisual materials and more. This source can help researchers find items, verify citations, and identify which libraries hold a particular title.

Interdisciplinary bibliography of the European Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 400-1500. Contains records for articles from periodicals, conference proceedings, exhibition catalogues, etc. published world-wide.

The Byzantinische Bibliographie Online includes the bibliographic sections of the Byzantinische Zeitschrift from volume 98 (2005) up to the present day. The entries are organized systematically by subject area and enriched by short discussions and references to relevant review articles.
Users can either browse the bibliography by subject category (down to the fourth level) and organize the results by title, author, publication year, and relevance, or do a search by (key) word, author, publication type, publication year, publisher, ISSN, and ISBN, and combinations thereof.
From their Website

Regularly updated annotated bibliography addressing themes and topics in Medieval and Byzantine Studies

A database of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. All issues of each journal are included in full-text except for the most recent 2-to-5 years.

Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 10,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage available to 1900. Includes the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Web of Science is especially useful for its citation linking.

HathiTrust is a shared digital repository created by major research libraries. It offers searching of the full text of books and full access to works in the public domain
UChicago users may login to download high quality PDF versions where available.

Includes citations for materials from the first U.S. dissertation (1861) to those accepted as recently as last semester. Starting in 1997 full-text is often available. If full-text is not available information about ordering the document is provided.

Brill's Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages Online offers coverage of medieval European history and culture, c. 500-c. 1500, in a series of themed articles, taking an interdisciplinary and comparative approach.

Edited by Andr Vauchez; Translated by Adrian Walford. A collaborative work of over 600 scholars from more than forty countries, the Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages provides 3,000 concise and detailed articles on all aspects of the period from the fifth to the fifteenth century. It explores art, architecture, religion, law, science, language, philosophy, and theology, as well as cultural, religious, intellectual, social and political history. With a focus on focus on Europe and Christendom, the Encyclopedia also covers the rise of Islam and people of other cultures with whom Europeans came into contact.
From their Website

IEMA, an entirely new supplement to the Lexikon des Mittelalters (LexMA), is being produced under the joint auspices of the UCLA Center for Medieval and Renaissance Studies and Brepols Publishers; it will be made available at Brepolis, the Brepols site for online medieval encyclopedias, bibliographies, and databases. The chronological range of IEMA is 300-1500 CE, and it will cover all of Europe, North Africa, and the Middle East. IEMA will complement and fill in gaps in the coverage of the present Lexikon des Mittelalters (LexMA).

Edited by Alexander P. Kazhdan . With more than 5,000 entries by an international group of eminent historians, this is the standard research tool on 1,100 years of Byzantine history. Exhaustive in its coverage, entries on patriarchy and emperors coexist with entries on surgery, musical instruments, and the baking of bread, bringing to life this vastly important culture and empire, from the 4th century to the 15th. (From their Web site)

The Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages is a reference resource for all key aspects of European history, society, religion, and culture from circa 500 CE to circa 1500 CE. Relevant aspects of the Byzantine Empire, the Islamic dynasties, and Asiatic peoples such as the Avars and the Mongols are also included in this comprehensive work. It includes over 5,000 A-Z entries, written by more than 800 international scholars, covering the whole geographical extent of the European Middle Ages and balanced treatments of sixteen topics centrally important to the study of the period. Each entry includes an up-to-date bibliography to guide further reading and research.

The LBG is the foremost lexicographical resource in Byzantine Studies mainly covering the period from the 4th to the 15th century A.D. taken from more than 3,000 texts. Seven fascicles have appeared to date, with one more scheduled to appear in 2016. When completed the dictionary will consist of more than 2,000 printed pages, containing approx. 80,000 lemmata.
From their website

Logeion was developed to provide simultaneous lookup of entries in many Greek and Latin dictionaries. Dictionaries include the Perseus Classical collection (Liddell and Scott's Greek-English Lexicon (1940); Liddell and Scott's Intermediate Greek Lexicon (1889); Autenrieth's Homeric Dictionary (1891); Lewis and Short's Latin-English Lexicon (1879); Lewis's Elementary Latin Dictionary (1890)) as well as The Diccionario Griego-Espaol Project, Du Cange, et al., Glossarium medi et infim latinitatis (1883-1887), Basiswoordenlijst Latijn (1975), and Pinksters Woordenboek Latijn/Nederlands (2011).

Including Library of Latin Texts (A & B), Monument Germaniae Historica, Archive of Celtic-Latin Literature, and Aristoteles Latinus Database.

Database contains texts from the beginning of Latin literature through to the texts of the Second Vatican Council. Covers all the works from the classical period up to the 2nd century C.E./A.D; the most important patristic works starting around 200 C.E./A.D. with Tertullian, ending with the death of Venerable Bede in 735; a very extensive corpus of Medieval Latin literature as well as works of recentior latinitas - texts taken from the Corpus Christianorum series and from many other leading editions; and, Neo-Latin literature (1501-1962) including decrees from the modern ecumenical Church councils up to Vatican II, and translations into Latin of important sixteenth-century works.

An electronic version of the Latin portion of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologiae Cursus Completus, including notes, glosses, and indexes. Although originally published in the 19th century, it still represents the only scholarly edition of many works.

“Sources Chrétiennes Online” forms the digital, searchable counterpart to the well-known “Sources Chrétiennes” series, based in Lyon and published by Éditions du Cerf, Paris. By 2025, the database will incorporate the source texts from the more than 600 printed volumes, in Latin, Greek, Syriac, Armenian and Georgian, sided by French translations and allowing for targeted and filtered searches.

An increasingly comprehensive collection of all the surviving texts of Greek literature from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453.