Library Guides: Beyond the Culture Wars: Books & Articles

Finding scholarly books on your topic

1. Begin by using the keyword search screen. You may place limits on your search at the beginning, or use the facets later.

2. Explore the subject headings of relevant books to build your bibliography.

---------------------------------------------------
Here is an example of some interesting books that were retrieved using a keyword search for "ethnic studies." Note the hyperlinked subject strings in each of the catalog records:

Conformity and Conflict by James A. Banks
ISBN: 0205046746
Publication Date: 1975
Ethnic Studies at Chicago, 1905-1945 by Stow Persons
ISBN: 0252013441
Publication Date: 1987
On Strike!: Ethnic Studies, 1969-1999. by Fifth Floor Productions, and National Asian American Telecommunications Association
Publication Date: 2003
Sources on Afro-Americans in Philadelphia: 1865 to the Present by Balch Institute for Ethnic Studies
Publication Date: 1989
Where in the World Is UChicago's Race and Ethnic Studies by UChicago United
Publication Date: 2019
White Washing American Education by Denise M. Sandoval, et al (eds)
ISBN: 9781440832550
Publication Date: 2016

How do I Find Journal Articles?

There are several different approaches to finding journal articles, depending on your starting point.

1. If you know the title of the article:

Try Articles Plus. For instance, search for the title of the journal and click the "Find It" button to get access.
Search the Library Catalog for the journal title

2. If you are exploring a topic, use an article index such as ERIC. This approach is more comprehensive than going to JSTOR, which does not include the last five years of most journal content. Also, JSTOR only includes a fraction of the journal titles indexed in ERIC or other subject-specific indexes. JSTOR is a great resource for searching for articles across disciplines.

3. If you are looking for a particular journal online, search the Library's e-journal index.

Indexes for Finding Articles In American Studies

ATLA Religion with ATLASerials PLUS This link opens in a new window
AtlaSerials PLUS (Atlas PLUS) includes more than 580+ full-text journals in many diverse areas of religion and theology, with full-text content in more than 20 languages from more than 35 different countries. Atlas PLUS includes all of the titles in Atla’s original full-text product, AtlaSerials (Atlas), and 200+ additional full-text titles.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
America: History & Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Education Resource Information Center (ERIC) is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences.
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES), U.S. Department of Education. Since 1966, ERIC has indexed journals, research reports, conference papers, curriculum guides and publications of organizations. Full-text of older ERIC documents (non-journal material) are often available on microfiche; note the Accession Number beginning with ED in the ERIC record. The ERIC microfiche is located on the Regenstein B-level.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A database of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. All issues of each journal are included in full-text except for the most recent 2-to-5 years.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides access to research in sociology and related disciplines. Includes citations since 1963 (and abstracts since 1974) for articles in over 1,500 journals.

Citation Linking

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
For University of Chicago settings for Google Scholar, click here.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 10,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage available to 1900. Includes the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Web of Science is especially useful for its citation linking.

Ask a Librarian

Contact:

Email Us
773-702-4685 (Phone)
773-825-6777 (Text)

Subjects: Astronomy & Astrophysics, Biological Sciences, Humanities, Molecular Engineering, Physical Sciences, Social Sciences