Library Guides: UChicago Library Business Resources & Services for Polsky Exchange Members: Business Research Resources

Acceptable Use of Resources

These resources are provided by the University of Chicago Library. Use is subject to the University and Library policies on use of computers and electronic resources.

You are welcome to download, save, or print reports and articles for your own use, but you are not allowed to share these with others. You can quote them in pitch decks or business plans, but be sure to cite your source.

Industry and Market Research Reports

These resources need to be accessed at Regenstein Library or the business research terminals at the Polsky Exchange.

BCC Research This link opens in a new window
BCC provides in-depth global market research reports with detailed industry analysis, accurate forecasts, and actionable insights, covering materials, technology, life sciences and energy.
BCC publishes market research reports on materials, technology, life sciences and energy.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld provides market research and analysis on over 700 industries, with insights into target markets, competitive landscapes, opportunities and threats, product development, and more. Reports can be viewed at US and state level, as well as some global coverage and select other countries
IBISWorld has market research and analysis on over 700 industries.
ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
ProQuest One Business provides a comprehensive, single platform to access a vast array of business-related content, including company reports, industry analyses, news articles, market data, and academic research. Quickly and efficiently research potential markets, competitors, and industry trends.
Contains business-focused content from a variety of sources including newspapers, dissertations, ebooks, video, business cases, industry reports and more.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista provides a comprehensive source of market data across various industries. Make informed business decisions based on insights about consumer trends, market sizes, competitor analysis, and emerging opportunities.
Statista collects data from a broad range of government and commercial sources. Data can be downloaded in Excel or pre-formatted for PowerPoint. Statista also includes reports from market research companies.

Our Conducting Industry Research guide has more resources, including guides to researching specific industries.

Demographics and Local Data

These resources need to be accessed at Regenstein Library or the business research terminals at the Polsky Exchange.

Data Axle Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA) This link opens in a new window
Also available through the Chicago Public Library. Chicago residents can access this remotely.
Directory database that covers the U.S. and Canada. Screen by geography, revenue, employee size and more. Includes corporate linkage showing parent and subsidiary relationships.
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
Licensed for 5 users at a time.
SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping, analytics, and data visualization application. Create interactive maps, charts, and reports using 200,000+ data variables.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Licensed for 5 users at a time.
Social Explorer is a detailed reference tool for current and historical Census data from 1790 to the present. Data may be generated by browsing maps or building reports.

Chicago Public Library Business Resources Available From Anywhere

Chicago Public Library has an amazing selection of business resources available remotely to all Chicago residents. See a full list and get access details on their Business & Money page.

Chicago Public Library's Business & Money Resources

Data Axle Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA) This link opens in a new window
Also available through the Chicago Public Library. Chicago residents can access this remotely.
Directory database that covers the U.S. and Canada. Screen by geography, revenue, employee size and more. Includes corporate linkage showing parent and subsidiary relationships.
Small Business Source This link opens in a new window
Also available through the Chicago Public Library. Chicago residents can access this remotely.
Small Business Source offers full text for consumer small business reference books, as well as tools to understand and address a wide variety of small business topics. The database includes business videos, case studies, help and advice, a start-up kit and tips for writing business plans. This resource is funded by the Illinois State Library.

Free Resources Available From Anywhere

Claritas PRIZM Premier Segment Narratives 2023
PRIZM Premier is a marketing segmentation system from Claritas containing 68 segments that combine demographics, consumer behavior, and geographic data to help marketers understand, find, and engage with their customers and prospects.

CMAP Community Data Snapshots
The Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning (CMAP) provides snapshots summarizing demographic, housing, and more for the 77 Chicago community areas and beyond.
Data.gov
The home of the U.S. Government’s open data. Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
ThomasNet
Directory of manufacturers and industrial suppliers. An excellent source for determining who manufactures a particular type of machinery or equipment.