Library Guides: Chicago News: Chicago-Area Archives

Hanna Holborn Gray Special Collections Research Center

Chicago Foreign Language Press Survey Records 1861-1938
The collection consists of 120,000 typewritten pages translated from newspapers of 22 different foreign language communities in Chicago, ranging from Lithuanian, Slovene, and Filipino to Chinese, Albanian, German, Greek, and Ukrainian communities. The dates of the original articles span the period of 1861-1938. The collection is arranged alphabetically by language group, beginning with Albanian newspapers and ending with those of the Ukrainian language press.
Chicago Fire Newspaper Collection 1871-1909
The Chicago Fire Newspaper Collection consists of newspapers, a newsprint magazine, and a newsprint flyer, mainly related to the 1871 Chicago fire. Publications included in the collection are Western Rural Times, Chicago Times, Chicago Daily Tribune, Chicago Illustrated, and Chicago Tribune. The collection includes articles printed on the eve of the fire, in the fire’s immediate aftermath, and a year after the fire. It also contains illustrations of buildings planned and constructed between October 1871 and October 1872. One anomalous item is dated 1909 and makes no reference to the fire.

Chicago Newspapers - Explore Chicago Collections
From the Chicago Collections Consortium (UChicago Library is a member), this guide provides guidance on finding Chicago newspaper archives online and in local institutions.

Center for Research Libraries Catalog This link opens in a new window
The University of Chicago Library is a member of the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), which provides access to over 16,000 newspapers. We encourage you to request any newspapers that you need via interlibrary loan services.
CRL is a consortium of North American academic and independent research libraries. Its shared collections include newspapers (foreign, domestic, and specialized), foreign doctoral dissertations, and other traditional materials. Use Interlibrary Loan to request materials from CRL. CRL is located on the south side of the U of C campus.

Black Metropolis Research Consortium
Illinois Newspaper Project Database
Search newspaper holdings at libraries around Illinois, compiled by the Illinois Newspaper Project. Includes some holdings for Chicago newspaper.

WorldCat (OCLC) This link opens in a new window
WorldCat is a database that allows researchers to search the combined catalogs of hundreds of libraries around the world. It contains more than 52 million records for books, journals, audiovisual materials and more. This source can help researchers find items, verify citations, and identify which libraries hold a particular title.

Chicago Sun-Times Photo Archives
Digital images from the Chicago Sun-Times photo archive housed at the Chicago History Museum.
Chicago Daily News Photo Collection
Digital images of the Chicago Daily News Photo Archive at the Chicago History Museum.

University of Chicago Photographic Archive This link opens in a new window
From Special Collections, University of Chicago. Includes photographs and plans of campus buildings, street scenes, plans, elevations and interior views.

Contact:

Email Us
773-702-4685 (Phone)
773-825-6777 (Text)

Subjects: Astronomy & Astrophysics, Biological Sciences, Humanities, Molecular Engineering, Physical Sciences, Social Sciences