Library Guides: HIPS 18504 Science, Culture, and Society in Western Civilization III: Computation, Culture & Society: Newspapers

American Newspapers

ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Search all of Proquest's Historical Newspapers in one place.
Search all of our ProQuest Historical Newspapers together. Note that dates of coverage vary.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
Full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers.
With digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers and advanced searching capabilities, researchers will be able to research history in ways previously unavailable. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.
America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922
Full text of hundreds of American newspapers published between 1699 through 1922, with extensive coverage of newspapers published in the colonial period to 1820.
Provides full text of issues from hundreds of American newspapers published between 1699 and 1922, with near exhaustive coverage for newspapers that began publication before 1820.
Access Newspaper Archive
Newspaper Archive spans more than 400 years of family history, small-town events, world news and more.
ICON Newspaper Digitization Projects
The International Coalition on Newspapers includes links to collections of U.S. newspapers that have been digitized.
The International Coalition on Newspapers includes links to collections of US & international newspapers that have been digitized.
Newspapers.com
Historical newspaper archive including many smaller newspapers from cities and towns in the United States and other countries around the world.
Historical newspaper archives. Search for obituaries, marriage announcements, birth announcements, social pages, local sports action, advertisements, news articles, and more.

European Newspapers

Dutch

Dutch newspapers 1618-1995 from the Koninklijke Bibliotheek, including papers from the Dutch East Indies

French
France-actualité, 1978-1981. Indexes Le Figaro, L'Humanité and Le Monde

Gallica From the Bibliothèque Nationale de France. Select the "periodicals" tab. Gallica includes a growing collection of 19th- and early 20th century newspapers, such as Le Figaro (1830-1942), La Croix (1883-1944) and Le Journal des débats (1814-1912).

Le Monde, 1987-present; in PDF from 2003. In Eureka.

Le Monde Diplomatique, 1969-2013 in print; 1980-present in Eureka.

German

ANNO: Austrian Newspapers Online provides digitized newspapers, late 19th and early 20th century.

Compact Memory: Retrospektive Digitalisierung jüdischer Periodika im deutschsprachigen Raum Digitized German-language Jewish newspapers, 1806-1938.

DiFMOE A collection of 19th- and 20th-century newspapers, journals, almanacs, monographs, photos, maps and postcards from Central and Eastern Europe.

***NOTE Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung (FAZ) no longer sells its content to US libraries. Abstracts may be found in Factiva.

Spanish

El Pais, Madrid. 1996-present. In Lexis-Nexis

Hemeroteca Digital archive is a project of the National Library of Spain. It consists of 143 titles representing a wide variety of Spanish newspapers, ranging from 1772 to 1933.

See also our guide Latin American news sources.

British Empire

British Newspapers, 1600-1900 includes 17th- and 18th- century newspapers that were collected by Rev. Charles Burney (1757-1817) and augmented by the British Museum in 1818, as well as national and regional papers from the later 19th century.

British newspapers online, 1901-1950: Lists of regional and national papers, with links to full-text when available.

Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2009; and current recent issues in Factiva.

London Gazette (1665-present ), Edinburgh Gazette (1699-present ) and Belfast Gazette (1921-present) are official journals of record of the British government and are available online from their inceptions.

Guardian (1821-2003) and Observer (1791-2003)

Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003

Sunday Times Digital Archive, 1822-2006

Times Of London digital archive (1785-1985)