Evidence-Based Medicine

A catalog of more than 1,100 sites covering a wide range of biomedical topics from Alzheimer disease to zebrafish anatomy. Some of the databases contain experimental data; others provide synopses of published information. Most of the databases are freely accessible.

Authoritative source of information for the professional literature of nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and healthcare. Provides references to journal articles, books, book chapters, pamphlets, audiovisuals, dissertations, educational software, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, and more. Some full-text material is included.

Includes full text of the regularly-updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. The reviews are presented in two types: Complete reviews - regularly-updated Cochrane Reviews, prepared and maintained by Collaborative Review Groups; and Protocols - protocols for reviews currently being prepared (all include an expected date of completion). Protocols are the background, objectives and methods of reviews in preparation.

Embase is a biomedical and pharmacological bibliographic database of published literature designed to support information managers and pharmacovigilance in complying with the regulatory requirements of a licensed drug.

MEDLINE is the United States National Library of Medicine's (NLM) bibliographic database providing information from the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences. It is also a primary source of information from the international literature on biomedicine, including the following topics as they relate to biomedicine and health care: Biology, environmental science, marine biology, plant and animal science, biophysics, and chemistry.

Bibliographic database of scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. PsycINFO covers journals, books, reviews, and dissertations.

Provides access to citations and full text articles from the biomedical literature (medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care, and the preclinical sciences). PubMed includes MEDLINE (mid 1960s-present), OLDMEDLINE (1950-1965), in-process citations (not yet indexed).

Scopus is an interdisciplinary, bibliographic database that indexes the contents of more than 29,000 journals in the physical sciences, engineering, earth and environmental sciences, life and health sciences, social sciences, psychology, business, and management.

Scopus also features cited references and can be searched for articles that cite a specific article.

Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 10,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage available to 1900. Includes the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Web of Science is especially useful for its citation linking.

UpToDate is a practical clinical reference comprised of thousands of original topic reviews which address a specific clinical issue and provide detailed recommendations. UpToDate performs a continuous review of over 270 journals and other resources.