Wellness Resources

Independent Features & Shorts, 1990-Present.
New World Cinema includes approximately 200 full-length feature films from leading independent distributors such as Kino Lorber, First Run Features, Film Movement, MK2, and the Global Films Initiative. All films were presented at major film festivals, many were nominated for awards, and many have major awards. Collectively the films in the database have won more than 1,000 awards.

Part of Alexander Street Press's "Anthropology," which brings together a wide range of ethnographic documentaries, indigenous media, field notes, study guides and raw footage, covering human behavior the world over.

Asian Film Online: Volume I offers a view of Asian culture as seen through the lens of the independent Asian filmmaker. Through a selection curated by film scholars and critics, viewers can explore the impact of globalization and urbanization on peoples everyday lives throughout the greater Asian region. Faculty and students engaged in area studies, anthropology, film studies, philosophy, geography, education, religion, gender studies, world literature, urban development, cross-cultural communication, journalism, social sciences, and humanities will benefit from exploring this rare collection of films that make silent voices heard.
From their website

Docuseek2 provides exclusive educational streaming access to documentary and social issue films from Bullfrog Films, Collective Eye Films, Icarus Films (including The Fanlight Collection and dGenerate Films), Kartemquin Films, Scorpion TV, Sincerely Films, Terra Nova Films and Villon Films

Provides online access to a digital streaming video collection of unique films of current, leading British theatre productions. Includes behind-the-scenes documentaries as well as teaching and learning resources to facilitate a deeper understanding of the productions and texts. Learning resources include a detailed introduction, plot summary, character biographies, a relationship map, language analysis, scene study, performance background and historical context for each play.

An online research tool for theater with videos and full texts of plays from across the history of the theater, published by Bloomsbury. Includes the Core Collection, Aurora Metro Books, Classic Spring Oscar Wilde, National Theatre, Currency Press, Nick Hern Books Modern Plays, Oberon Books, Playwrights Canada Press, Stratford Festival Shakespeare, and TCG Books.

Provides access to 19 performances of plays and musicals from the New York theatre scene.

Offers over 75,000 streamed audio tracks of classical music from the Naxes, Marco Polo and Da Capo catalogues.

Restrictions: Access is limited to 5 simultaneous users. Please log off when you are finished with the database.

With Music Online, Alexander Street Press aims to provide the most comprehensive database in streaming audio, video, reference, and scores on the web. Music Online allows users cross search all of the music databases published by Alexander Street Press. Includes Classical Music Library, American Song, Contemporary World Music, Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, Jazz Music Library, Smithsonian Global Sound.

The Met Opera on Demand catalog currently contains 86 selections from the companys groundbreaking Live in HD series, which uses multiple cameras, advanced technology, and innovative direction to capture the excitement and power of live opera. The series popular intermission features, which take viewers behind the scenes for exclusive interviews with the stars of each production, are included with each title.
From their website

Opera in video contains approximately 250 important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world's leading performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work's importance to the operatic canon.