Library Guides: CMLT 28446, GRMN 28446: Apocalypse Now: Scripts of Eschatological Imagination: Working with Images

Image Collections

Special Collections
Digitized exhibitions with images from the Hanna Holborn Gray Special Collections Research Center
Newberry Library
Digital resources from Chicago's Newberry Library

In addition, we link to open content and public domain images from museums and libraries worldwide that may be used in papers, presentations and digital exhibitions.

The three databases below are licensed collections for use by the UChicago community.

Arkyves This link opens in a new window
Strong collections of early modern religious iconography from European collections.
Arkyves provides access to more than 500,000 images and textual entries from libraries and museums in many countries, among them the Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam, the Netherlands Institute for Art History (RKD) and the Herzog August Bibliothek in Wolfenbttel. More collections will follow in the near future.
From the Brill website
LUNA This link opens in a new window
The Art History department's extensive teaching collection of high-resolution images.
The LUNA Viewer is the dynamic web-based front end used to deliver content to your audience. You can perform simple keyword searches or complex structured queries, and can control how you view, browse, and organize your results to create Media Groups and presentations. You can save and share your work by linking and embedding any view, image, group, or presentation.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
The largest of our image databases.
Image database covering architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture. Select "Search and Browse for Images" to begin using the database.

Fair Use in the Visual Arts

The College Art Association's Code of Best Practices in Fair Use for the Visual Arts (2015) provides practical guidance in applying copyright doctrine in writing and online use of images. Refer to the Code for guidance in using digital images in your exhibit.