Library Guides: HMRT 21001: Contemporary Issues: Reference Sources

Handbooks & encyclopedias

Reference sources such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks are tools that can help you delve deeper into the history, politics, policy, ethics, and other facets of immigration. Below is a brief selection of key reference tools to provide background information on immigration studies. For more help finding reference material, contact us.

Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
Regularly updated annotated bibliographies. University of Chicago Library subscribes to many sections of Oxford Bibliographies Online such as African Studies, Anthropology, Art History, Atlantic History, Buddhism, Childhood Studies, Chinese Studies, Cinema and Media Studies, Classics, Environmental Science, Geography, International Law, International Relations, Islamic Studies, Latin American Studies, Medieval Studies, Military History, Music, Political Science, Renaissance and Reformation, Social Work, and Sociology.
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Search all articles in all Handbooks regardless of whether or not the Library has purchased access to the electronic edition. If you need an article that is locked (abstract access only), try searching for the title of the handbook in the Library Catalog for a print copy.

Selected Oxford Bibliographies

Police Violence

Pandemic

Right to Water

Oxford Handbooks

Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Search all articles in all Handbooks regardless of whether or not the Library has purchased access to the electronic edition. If you need an article that is locked (abstract access only), try searching for the title of the handbook in the Library Catalog for a print copy.

Selected Oxford Handbooks:

Police Violence

Right to Water

Water Ethics: Toward Ecological Cooperation
From The Oxford Handbook of Environmental Ethics
Environmental Human Rights
From The Oxford Handbook of Environmental Political Theory
Human Rights and Climate Change: Broadening the Right to Environment
From The Oxford Handbook of International Climate Change Law

Pandemic

Just Global Health: Integrating Human Rights and Common Goods
From The Oxford Handbook of Global Justice
Public Health Emergency Legal and Ethical Preparedness
From The Oxford Handbook of U.S. Health Law
The Oxford Handbook of Global Health Politics
The Oxford Handbook of Public Health Ethics

Ask a Librarian

Contact:

Email Us
773-702-4685 (Phone)
773-825-6777 (Text)

Subjects: Biological Sciences, Business, Help Guides, Humanities, Physical Sciences, Social Sciences