Skip to main content

PHSC 12200 Chemistry of Food and Cooking

E-Journals

The Library has an extensive collections of journals available online.  Search for specific titles with the UChicago e-journals list

What is peer-review?

Peer review is a process to help assess the quality, validity and originality of research reported in a scholarly article.  An author sends an article to a journal.  The editor of the journal in turn sends the article to experts in the field ("peers" of the author) who provide comments, suggest revisions, and make recommendations for or against publishing the article.

Food chemistry in scientific journals

Scientific articles on food science and technology appear in a variety of journals, including several focusing directly on research in food and related areas.  Finding one good scientific article on your topic of interest often leads you to others since scientific articles contain references to other related articles. The following are a selection of some peer-reviewed journals you will encounter when doing research in food chemistry.

Trends in Food Science and Technology
Covers food analysis, development, manufacture, storage and marketing with concise and critical synopses of important advances in food research

Molecular Nutrition & Food Research
Covers health, safety and all aspects of molecular nutrition such as nutritional biochemistry, nutrigenomics and metabolomics

Food Engineering Reviews
Covers all aspects of food engineering

Food Chemistry
Covers chemistry and biochemistry of foods

Journal of Functional Foods
Covers research into foods that contain factors to ensure or enhance health

Food Quality and Preference
Covers sensory and consumer research in food products

Food Control
Covers current research, technology, legislation and good practices in all areas of food control

Journal of Agricultural and Food Chemistry
Covers original research dealing with the chemistry and biochemistry of agriculture and food. 

Journal of Food Science
Covers all aspects of food science, including safety and nutrition

Searching for articles by topic

If you are interested in a particular topic, the best tool to use is an abstracting and indexing database such as:

Web of Science
Interdisciplinary database covering a broad range of subject areas. One feature of this database is cited reference searching.  A cited reference search starts with a known item and moves forward in time, potentially guiding you through the evolution of a concept in the literature of one or more fields.   

PubMed
PubMed is a database created by the National Library of Medicine and is good for finding medically orientated articles on diet, nutrition, nutraceuticals. toxicity and other food science topics.

Tips for Searching

When searching for a topic, remember that everyone may not use the same terminology.  Take Vitamin E as an example.  This substance goes by many different names:  tocopherol, Alfacol, and even [(2R)-2,5,7,8-tetramethyl-2-[(4R,8R)-4,8,12-trimethyltridecyl]-3,4-dihydrochromen-6-yl] acetate.  Likewise scientific concepts may go by different terms: heart attack or myocardial infarction.  You may need to consider synonyms, especially if you are having a hard time finding any information at all.  And remember, you can always call on your friendly librarian for searching advice!