ACHIEVE - Advancing Community Health and Individual leadership through a noVel Educational program

Not-for-profit organization working to eliminate brain tumors through research and to meet the needs of patients and families

The ACS is the nationwide health organization dedicated to eliminating cancer.

Nationwide oncology outcomes database for over 1,500 hospitals in 50 states, and is in its 10th year of operation. The NCDB was founded as a joint project of the Commission on Cancer (CoC) of the American College of Surgeons (ACOS) and the American Cancer Society (ACS).

The DCPC is part of CDC's National Center For Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion.

(IARC) is part of the World Health Organization. IARC's mission is to coordinate and conduct research on the causes of human cancer, the mechanisms of carcinogenesis, and to develop scientific strategies for cancer control. The Agency is involved in both epidemiological and laboratory research and disseminates scientific information through publications, meetings, courses, and fellowships.

The NCI is a component of the National Institutes of Health (NIH), one of eight agencies that compose the Public Health Service (PHS) in the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS).

NCHS, the Federal Government's principal vital and health statistics agency, is part of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

Professional organization that develops and promotes uniform data standards for cancer registration and aggregates and publishes data from central cancer registries.

The mission of the OCS is to enhance the quality and length of survival of all persons diagnosed with cancer and to minimize or stabilize adverse sequelae of cancer survivorship.

Regional Office for the Americas of the World Health Organization.
PAHO is an international public health agency working to improve health and living standards of the countries of the Americas. It serves as the specialized organization for health of the Inter-American System. It also enjoys international recognition as part of the United Nations system.

The Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results (SEER) Program of the National Cancer Institute is the most authoritative source of information on cancer incidence and survival in the United States.

Not-for-profit corporation committed to providing a resource for gathering and disseminating current epidemiologic data on all primary brain tumors, benign and malignant, for the purposes of accurately describing their incidence and survival patterns, evaluating diagnosis and treatment, facilitating etiologic studies, establishing awareness of the disease, and ultimately, for the prevention of all brain tumors.

The AHA is a not-for-profit, voluntary health organization funded by private contributions. Its mission is to reduce disability and death from cardiovascular diseases and stroke. (The American Stoke Association is part of the AHA and not listed separately on this page)

CTSNet is a non-profit organization which is sponsored and owned by The Society of Thoracic Surgeons, The American Association for Thoracic Surgery, and The European Association for Cardio-Thoracic Surgery.

A division of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

NCHS, the Federal Government's principal vital and health statistics agency, is part of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

Regional Office for the Americas of the World Health Organization.
PAHO is an international public health agency working to improve health and living standards of the countries of the Americas. It serves as the specialized organization for health of the Inter-American System. It also enjoys international recognition as part of the United Nations system.

The ADA is the nation's leading nonprofit health organization providing diabetes research, information and advocacy.

Site maintained by the Division of Diabetes Translation, a division of the National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).

The NIDDK, a division of the National Institutes of Health, conducts and supports research on many of the most serious diseases affecting the public health.

Regional Office for the Americas of the World Health Organization.
PAHO is an international public health agency working to improve health and living standards of the countries of the Americas. It serves as the specialized organization for health of the Inter-American System. It also enjoys international recognition as part of the United Nations system.

NCHS, the Federal Government's principal vital and health statistics agency, is part of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

The mission of the DOE is to foster a secure and reliable energy system that is environmentally and economically sustainable, to be a responsible steward of the Nation's nuclear weapons, and to support continued United States leadership in science and technology.

NEPIS is the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's source for data and information on environmental quality, status, and trends.

Healthy People provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans. For 3 decades, Healthy People has established benchmarks and monitored progress over time in order to encourage collaborations across communities and sectors, empower individuals toward making informed health decisions, and measure the impact of prevention activities.

The mission of the MSHA is to administer the provisions of the Federal Mine Safety and Health Act of 1977 (Mine Act) and to enforce compliance with mandatory safety and health standards as a means to promote improved safety and health conditions in the Nation's mines.

The mission of OSHA is to save lives, prevent injuries and protect the health of America's workers. OSHA is a department in the Department of Labor.

Independent philanthropic organization focused on major health care issues facing the nation.

NCHS, the Federal Government's principal vital and health statistics agency, is part of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

WHO is defined by its Constitution as the directing and coordinating authority on international health work.

AHRQ is the lead agency charged with supporting research designed to improve the quality of health care, reduce its cost, and broaden access to essential services.

Promotes high quality health care services for low-income populations and people with chronic illnesses and disabilities.

The mission of HSC is to inform health care decision makers about changes in the health care system at both the local and national levels and the effects of such changes on people. HSC seeks to provide objective, incisive analyses that lead to sound policy and management decisions, with the ultimate goal of improving the health of the American public.

CMS is the federal agency that administers the Medicare, Medicaid and State Children's Health Insurance Program.

A database of citations to research-in-progress funded by federal, state, private organizations, and foundation grants and contracts, HSRProj provides access to information about research in progress before results are available in published form. For more information read read the fact sheet available from the National Library of Medicine. INSTRUCTIONS FOR SEARCHING: This file is available from the NLM Gateway. Enter your search terms in the box, then from the results list, select those citations under the "Other Collections"category.

Health Services/Technology Assessment Text is a searchable collection of large, full-text clinical practice guidelines, technology assessments and health information. For more information read the fact sheet from the National Library of Medicine.

HSRR is a searchable database of information about research datasets and instruments/indices. Users may examine and compare characteristics of some of the resources employed in Health Services Research, and the Behavioral and Social Sciences. The database includes brief descriptions of research resources and links to PubMed. It also includes URLs of providers for additional information or access to the resources.

The mission of JCAHO is to improve the quality of care provided to the public through the provision of health care accreditation and related services that support performance improvement in health care organizations.

Manages the nation's social insurance program, consisting of retirement, survivors, and disability insurance programs, commonly known as social security. (The United States Government Manual 1996/1997)

Independent philanthropic organization focused on major health care issues facing the nation.

A division of the National Center for HIV, STD, and TB Prevention (NCHSTP) of the Centers for Disease Control (CDC).

The U.S. national reference, referral and distribution service for information on HIV/AIDS, STDs, and TB.

CIESIN was established in 1989 as a non-profit, non-governmental organization. CIESIN is the World Data Center A (WDC-A) for Human Interactions in the Environment.

Independent philanthropic organization focused on major health care issues facing the nation.

The ILO is the UN agency with special responsibility for the world of work and has a key role to play in preventing the spread of the AIDS epidemic and mitigating its impact in the world of work.

NCHS, the Federal Government's principal vital and health statistics agency, is part of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

Regional Office for the Americas of the World Health Organization.
PAHO is an international public health agency working to improve health and living standards of the countries of the Americas. It serves as the specialized organization for health of the Inter-American System. It also enjoys international recognition as part of the United Nations system.

UNAIDS leads, strengthens and supports an expanded response aimed at preventing the transmission of HIV. Co-sponsored by UNICEF, UNDP, UNFPA, UNESCO, WHO, and the WORLD BANK

WHO is defined by its Constitution as the directing and coordinating authority on international health work.

NIMH is part of the National Institutes of Health, Department of Health and Human Services.

NMHA is the country's oldest and largest nonprofit organization addressing all aspects of mental health and mental illness.

The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) is the agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services that leads public health efforts to advance the behavioral health of the nation. SAMHSA's mission is to reduce the impact of substance abuse and mental illness on America's communities.

Regional Office for the Americas of the World Health Organization.
PAHO is an international public health agency working to improve health and living standards of the countries of the Americas. It serves as the specialized organization for health of the Inter-American System. It also enjoys international recognition as part of the United Nations system.

NCHS, the Federal Government's principal vital and health statistics agency, is part of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

A non-profit organization based in Minneapolis, Minn., the NMDP facilitates unrelated marrow and blood stem cell transplants for patients with life-threatening diseases who do not have matching donors in their families.

Maintained by by the United Network for Organ Sharing (UNOS) under contract with the US Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) and the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA)

This site was created by the Division of Transplantation, Office of Special Programs, Health Resources and Services Administration.

SRTR supports the ongoing evaluation of the scientific and clinical status of solid organ transplantation in the United States. With oversight and funding from the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), a division of the US Department of Health and Human Services, the SRTR is administered by University Renal Research and Education Association (URREA), a not for profit health research foundation, in collaboration with the University of Michigan.

UNOS administers the national Organ Procurement and Transplantation Network (OPTN) and the US Scientific Registry on Organ Transplantation under contracts with the US Department of Health and Human Services.

USRDS is a national data system which collects, analyzes, and distributes information about end-stage renal disease (ESRD) in the US.