Library Guides: MERITS: Articles & Databases

MEDLINE

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Tip: limit results to Publication Type:
• Historical Article
Works giving account of past events significant in field of study, profession, discovery, invention, etc. Concept of history ranges from the dawn of time to the present.

• Classical Article
A current presentation of a previously printed seminal article marking a milestone in history of medicine or science. Often reprinted on anniversary of original publication or anniversary of author's birth or death.
Provides access to citations and full text articles from the biomedical literature (medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care, and the preclinical sciences). PubMed includes MEDLINE (mid 1960s-present), OLDMEDLINE (1950-1965), in-process citations (not yet indexed).
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
The same publication limits in PubMed, Classical Article and Historical Article, are available in Ovid MEDLINE.
MEDLINE is the United States National Library of Medicine's (NLM) bibliographic database providing information from the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences. It is also a primary source of information from the international literature on biomedicine, including the following topics as they relate to biomedicine and health care: Biology, environmental science, marine biology, plant and animal science, biophysics, and chemistry.

ERIC This link opens in a new window
Funded by the U.S. Department of Education, ERIC is the largest education database in the world. Along with indexing thousands of journals, ERIC also includes a substantial collection of other education materials such as reports, curricula, and conference papers (ERIC Documents).
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES), U.S. Department of Education. Since 1966, ERIC has indexed journals, research reports, conference papers, curriculum guides and publications of organizations. Full-text of older ERIC documents (non-journal material) are often available on microfiche; note the Accession Number beginning with ED in the ERIC record. The ERIC microfiche is located on the Regenstein B-level.
Education Index Retrospective, 1929-1983 This link opens in a new window
Covering a century of research, this database provides cover-to-cover indexing for an international range of English-language periodicals and yearbooks. It includes accurate, detailed, cover-to-cover indexing of some 500 periodicals, as far back as 1929 through 1983.

MedEdPORTAL
An open educational repository and publication service from the AAMC. Features approximately 2,000 peer-reviewed educational resources from over 10,000 medical and dental education institutions worldwide.
Portal of Geriatric Online Education (POGOe)
Free, public repository of geriatric educational materials in various formats, including lectures, exercises, virtual patients, case-based discussions, simulations, and more. Funded by Donald W. Reynolds Foundation and managed by Mount Sinai School of Medicine, Department of Geriatrics and Palliative Medicine.
Reviews of E-Learning Resources
Reviews of online learning resources for internal medicine residents, from the Association of Program Directors in Internal Medicine (APDIM) E-Learning Task Force.

History of Science, Technology, & Medicine This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database of journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine and allied historical fields. Updated quarterly. 1975-present.

IndexCat
The database of the print Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon-General's Office, printed from 1880-1961 in five series consisting of 61 volumes.

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
America: History & Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present.
America: History & Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Contains over 18,000 titles from more than 5,000 publishers in the scientific, technical, medical, social sciences, and arts & humanities fields.
Scopus is an interdisciplinary, bibliographic database that indexes the contents of more than 29,000 journals in the physical sciences, engineering, earth and environmental sciences, life and health sciences, social sciences, psychology, business, and management.

Scopus also features cited references and can be searched for articles that cite a specific article.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Provides access to content in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Some material dates from 1900.
Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 10,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage available to 1900. Includes the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Web of Science is especially useful for its citation linking.

Send Email

Contact:

Director of Library Research in Medical Education
Joseph Regenstein Library, Room 268

773-702-8552

Subjects: Biological Sciences, Biomedical Informatics, Biomedical Sciences, Medicine, Molecular & Cell Biology, Organismal Biology