This is the "Sources for M&A Information" page of the "Mergers and Acquisitions" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Admin Sign In 

Mergers and Acquisitions   Tags: acquisitions, m&a, mergers  

Sources for M&A information
Last update: Jan 6, 2010 URL: http://guides.lib.uchicago.edu/mergers  Print Guide   RSS Updates ShareThis
Sources for M&A InformationPrint Page
  Search: 
 
 

Individual Deals

Thomson Financial is the premier source for information on individual M&A deals. Their data can be accessed through SDC Platinum or Thomson ONE Banker. The database has comprehensive details on all announced deals, whether completed or uncompleted. The database covers U.S. targets 1979 to present and Non U.S. targets 1985 to present. Data are unavailable for the last thirty days as a condition of our academic subscription.
Data available include full financial details, advisors and fees, premiums paid, etc.

SDC Platinum runs on client software and is available in Regenstein Library, first floor reading room.

 

League Tables

League Tables are periodic rankings of M&A activity. These usually rank the largest deals and the firms involved in the deals.

Thomson Financial is the most widely cited source for league tables.
They have some information available for free through their
Deals Intelligence site  This requires registration.

SDC Platinum and Thomson ONE Banker
allow you to search on any number of criteria and create customized league tables based on your search results. Use the advanced search in Thomson Banker and then choose Rankings after running your search. In SDC Platinum, use the League Tables button on the toolbar

 

Bloomberg has current league tables on their web site.
Custom tables can be generated on the Bloomberg terminals in the Gleacher and Harper Center Labs. Type LEAG at the prompt.

mergermarket offers their current tables for free.

 

Industry statistics and analysis

Mergerstat Review

Published annually and available in Regenstein Library, first floor reading room, call number HD 2746.5.M48 Mergerstat Review is an annual statistical compendium of M & A activity worldwide. It features detailed industry analysis, including multiples and premiums at an industry level. The Library has 1985 - .
Full text of this publication is available in LexisNexis, beginning with 1989.
Click here to go directly to a search form.

Thomson ONE Banker

Thomson Banker has data on the dollar value and number of deals at macro-industry levels. It does not have data on multiples and premiums.
 

News and Articles

There are many publications dedicated to coverage of the M & A sector. Many of the the major publications are available in online databases like ABI/INFORM and Business Source Complete.
Some important publications:

  • Mergers & Acquisitions
    News and other information. Business Source Complete includes rosters of recently completed transactions.
    ABI/INFORM 1993 - present
    Business Source Complete 1998 - present
  • Weekly Corporate Growth Report
    News and trends. One issue a month includes an article on valuation in a specific industry.
    ABI/INFORM 1987 - 2009
    Business Source Complete 1996 - 2009

Business and Economics Librarians

Profile Image
Jeffry Archer
Paul Belloni
Greg Fleming
Contact Info:
Ask a Librarian Desk
Regenstein Library First Floor
773-702-4685
Email
Chat:
 

© The University of Chicago Library
1100 East 57th Street Chicago Illinois 60637

Description

Loading  Loading content... please wait