Skip to main content

Geography

Quick Links

Introduction

The University of Chicago Library holds an excellent collection in most branches of human geography, as well as in urban studies and environmental studies. Areas of particular regional strength include North America, Europe, Russia and the former Soviet republics, and South Asia.

Most of the collection is filed by call number in the stacks at the Joseph Regenstein Library. Certain reference materials can be found in the Second and Third Floor Reading Rooms ("RR") of Regenstein. Unbound paper periodicals are shelved in the Current Periodicals Reading Room at the eastern end of Regenstein's second floor. Some "scientific" materials are shelved in the John Crerar Library. The Library also provides access to a huge number of electronic resources.

Virtually all of the Library's holdings of books and serials are listed in its on-line catalog. Note that many monographic serials in geography are not "analyzed"; you must look them up by series name and number. Note also that some non-book titles, including many maps, are not cataloged at all.

The University of Chicago Library depends less than many institutions on blanket-order plans. Most new materials in geography are selected. Materials in general geography as well as geographical materials on North America, Western Europe, Latin America, Subsaharan Africa, and the Pacific are selected by the Bibliographer for Geography. Materials on the Middle East, South Asia, East Asia, and Eastern Europe and the former Soviet republics are selected by area-studies bibliographers. Material on the classical world and the ancient Near East is selected by the Classics bibliographer. A collection-development policy statement is available.

Subject Guide

Christopher Winters
Contact:
Bibliographer for Anthropology, Geography, and Maps
Joseph Regenstein Library
Room 370
773 702-8761

Geography at the University of Chicago