This is the "Home" page of the "K-12 Curriculum Materials" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

K-12 Curriculum Materials   Tags: curricula, curriculum, education, teaching, textbooks  

A guide to locating curriculum materials, including information about using the K-12 Curriculum Materials Collection.
Last Updated: May 3, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.uchicago.edu/curriculum Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Collection Development Policy

The K-12 Curriculum Materials Collection (CMC) was created in 2007 to support the University of Chicago's Urban Teacher Education Program.

Online Curriculum Resources

  • ERIC  
      
    ERIC database includes some curriculum materials. To focus your search, use the Advanced Search option, selecting the "Publication Type" and "Education Level".
  • Mathematics Education Database = MATHDI  
      
    The database, beginning with 1976, provides indexing for materials in mathematics education and computer science education at all levels, from pre-school to teacher training and adult education.
 

K-12 Curriculum Materials Collection

Where is the collection located?
The collection is located in Room 354 of the Regenstein Library. The room is equipped with a table for consultation of the materials and a computer workstation for accessing the collection's online resources.

Who may access the collection?
Anyone with an interest in education and teaching may use and check out items the collection.

Who may use the Curriculum Materials Collection room (Regenstein 354)? 
Groups in the Urban Teacher Education Program may reserve Room 354 to consult the collection. Requests must be submitted 24 hours in advance and are subject to approval.

UTEP Groups: Check availability and request a reservation of Room 354

Groups not affiliated with UTEP may use the room on a first come, first served basis, but must vacate the room for UTEP groups who have booked the room in order to consult the collection.

However, anyone needing curriculum materials shelved in the room must be given access to retrieve items for checkout, regardless of whether a group is using the room.  

What types of materials are held in the collection?
The collection specializes in curriculum resources and professional development materials for K-12 teaching.  The collection is comprised of materials in a variety of formats, including professional literature, teacher's manuals, DVDs, CD-ROMs, and online databases. 

How do I locate items in the collection?
You can locate curriculum materials using Lens or the Library Catalog.  However, if you only want to search items in the CMC, you must use the Advanced Search option in the Library Catalog. Select "Regenstein, Curriculum Materials" under the limit for "Location". Enter your keywords and search.

How are items shelved?
All items in the collection are shelved using the Library of Congress Classification System. DVDs and CD-ROMs in the collection are intermixed with the books.

May I check out items from the collection?
All items in the collection circulate and follow the standard loan period. You may check out materials at the Circulation Desk on the 1st Floor of Regenstein.

Subject Specialist

Profile Image
Eileen Libby
Contact Info
Education and SSA Librarian
Social Service Administration Library
969 East 60th Street
SSA, 1st Floor
(773) 702-1199
Send Email
 

© The University of Chicago Library
1100 East 57th Street Chicago Illinois 60637

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip