Getting Started
These are the most essential databases for articles and books in mathematics. See the articles & journals tab on this page for additional databases.
- MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
- MathSciNet (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowProvides fewer search fields but a simpler search interface than AMS version and better keyword searching.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowCovers all areas of the sciences and social sciences with coverage available to 1900. Especially useful for its citation linking.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowScopus is an interdisciplinary, bibliographic database that indexes the contents of more than 15,000 journals in the physical sciences, engineering, earth and environmental sciences, life and health sciences and social sciences.
UChicago Software Tools
UChicago Virtual Lab (vLab) can be used to access certain softwares on library computers and remotely from home that the University offers including Matlab, Python and R Studio.
Mathematics Resources in the Library
The University of Chicago Library mathematics collection is located in Eckhart Library (Eckhart Hall 217) and Mansueto Library. A collection of the most recent and most heavily used monographs is in Eckhart Library. All other monographs and all mathematics journals are in Mansueto Library. The collection focuses on research level materials in all areas of pure mathematics and in selected areas of applied mathematics. It contains an extensive collection of journals and a comprehensive collection of research monographs. An increasing number of journals are available in electronic form only.
Library Services
- ConsultationsMeet with a librarian to discuss research strategies
- Requesting Material/Interlibrary LoanGet books and article from other libraries
- My Library AccountRenew your books online with this feature. Also known as "My account"
- ProxyIt! BookmarkletInformation on how to install Proxyit! is available on this page.
- Purchase RequestsRequest we add a book or other resource to the library collection
- Group Study RoomsGroup Study Rooms are available in Regenstein and Crerar Libraries. Only current University of Chicago students, faculty, and staff may book rooms. Reservations are limited to 4 hours per day per group.
Related Guides
Mathematics at the University of Chicago
Subject Specialist
Regenstein 260
773-702-7569
Eckhart Library
Eckhart Hall Room 217
5734 S. University Ave
773-702-8778
Ask a Librarian
Off-campus Access
Almost all Library databases can be accessed from off-campus. The easiest way to do this is to use links from the Library website. You will then be prompted for your CNetID and password to authenticate yourself as an authorized user.
If you find sources through Google Scholar or other search engines, you may not automatically get access to Library resources. Use the ProxyIt bookmarklet or Libkey Nomad in these situations. There's more information on these in our guide to off-campus access.
John Crerar Library News
Follow Library News on Twitter