Copyright
When working with images keep in mind U.S. copyright laws. Use of images in scholarly work and research is subject to applicable United States copyright law and the provisions in the licenses for individual databases. Please consult the Terms of Use in each database you use, and for information regarding U.S. copyright law, see the University of Chicago Copyright Information Center.
About Image Research
Most images are not online
Due to copyright restrictions and other factors, only a tiny fraction of the world's images have been digitized. The majority of the images needed for research purposes are found in books, magazines, or photographic image archives.
Locating print sources and scanning is often the best way to find exactly what you need. Copyright generally allows one copy of an image to be scanned for research use and classroom presentation.
Large & Broad Image Databases
Image databases and image searching in collections of journal articles.
- ARTstor Largest and most comprehensive collection of high- resolution images. The University's teaching collection can no longer be searched simultaneously in ARTstor; use LUNA below.
- LUNA--Visual Resources Center Collections The Department of Art History's online teaching resources are available to all members of the University community.
- Academic Search Complete Photographs, charts and other images accompanying articles on all subjects. Select "More" from the blue navigation bar at the top, and "Images" from the drop-down menu.
- Aluka Includes illustrations, archeological reports and much more from African sites.
- JSTOR Type words in keyword search; select "only results with images" to view images found in the articles retrieved by your search.
- Life Magazine Photo ArchiveA subset of Goggle Images. Images are organized by decade, and searchable in Google using this syntax: xxxx source:life. For example, university of chicago source:life.
- New York Public Library Digital Gallery An excellent, freely-available database of images in the collections of The New York Public Library.
- University of Chicago Digital CollectionsDigital collections from the Special Collections Research Center
- World Digital LibraryA UNESCO-supported database containing digital maps, prints, books, journals, motion pictures and sound recordings about its nearly 200 member states. Narrow results by country, time period, contributing institution and more.
Subject Specialist |
Contact Info Bibliographer for Art and Cinema Bibliographer for History Regenstein Library Room 463 773-702-5193 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |


Loading...
