This is the "Encyclopedias" page of the "Legal Reference Sources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Legal Reference Sources  

Legal Encyclopedias and Dictionaries, Law Firm Directories, Legal Citation Guides, Legal News and Blogs
Last Updated: Nov 16, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.uchicago.edu/legalrefsources Print Guide RSS Updates

Encyclopedias Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

American Legal Encyclopedias

American Jurisprudence (Am Jur 2d)
Call Number: XXKF154.A42 D'Angelo Law, Reading Room
The standard legal encyclopedia, covering federal and state law in signed articles written by specialists.

Corpus Juris Secundum [C.J.S.]: A Complete Restatement of the Entire American Law as Developed by All Reported Cases
Call Number: XXKF154.C56 Mansueto
Many articles have recently been revised and brought up to date.

West's Encyclopedia of American Law
Call Number: XXKF154.W47 2004 D'Angelo Law Reference
Signed articles on legal topics, famous trials and cases, and famous jurist written by law professors. Written for non-lawyers.

Wex
Wex is a free legal dictionary and encyclopedia sponsored and hosted by the Legal Information Institute at the Cornell Law School. Wex entries are collaboratively created and edited by legal experts.

Halsbury's Laws of Australia
Call Number: XXKF4548.E52 2000 D'Angelo Law, Reference

Encyclopedia of Law and Economics - Boudewijn Bouckaert & Gerrit De Geest eds.
Call Number: XXK487.E3E53 2000 D'Angelo Law, Reserve

The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics and the Law - edited by Peter Newman.
Call Number: XXK487.E3N48 1998 D'Angelo Law, Reference

 

State Legal Encyclopedias

California Jurisprudence 3d
Call Number: XXKFC80.C23 D'Angelo Law, Bookstacks
Good general encyclopedia of California law, although less detailed than the Witkins summaries.

Illinois Jurisprudence
Call Number: XXKFI1230.5.L38 1992 D'Angelo Law, Reading Room
Good basic coverage of selected topics: Business Organizations, Commercial Law, Criminal Law, Family Law, Insurance, Personal Injury, Property, and Torts.

Illinois Law & Practice
Illinois encyclopedia published by Thomson West, broader in scope than Illinois Jurisprudence, but with less detail.

New York Jurisprudence 2d
Call Number: XXKFN5065.N48 1997 D'Angelo Law, Bookstacks
General encyclopedia of New York law, similar to Cal Jur.

 

Foreign Legal Encylopedias

Canadian Encyclopedic Digest (3d)
Encyclopedia of Canadian federal and provincial law, covering both case law and statutory law.

Halsbury's Laws of Canada
Call Number: XXKE180.H357 2006 D'Angelo Law, Bookstacks
Published by Butterworths/LexisNexis Canada.

Halsbury's Laws of England. 5th.
Call Number: XXKD310.H35 D'Angelo Law, Bookstacks
The standard encyclopedia of English law, from Butterworths. Parts of the 4th edition have not yet been replaced by the 5th edition.

The Laws of Scotland: Stair Memorial Encyclopaedia
Call Number: XXKDC150.L39 1987 D'Angelo Law, South Annex

Halsbury's Laws of Australia
Call Number: XXKF4548.E52 2000 D'Angelo Law, Reference

International Encyclopedia of Comparative Law
Call Number: XXK583.I567 1972 D'Angelo Law, Bookstacks

 

General Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia Britannica
Call Number: AE5.E363 2007 D'Angelo Law, Bookstacks


© The University of Chicago Library
1100 East 57th Street Chicago Illinois 60637

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip