Includes abstracts and indexes for African American history appearing in 2,000 journals published worldwide from 1954. Database also includes citations to abstracts of dissertations published in these areas. Database updated monthly.
America: History & Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present.
Contains abstracts in English of selected books and articles in the humanities and social sciences published since 1989. The publications are selected for their importance or the topicality of the subject.
Index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities. Produced by the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM), CLASE indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities (1975 to present). PERIODICA covers journals specializing in science and technology. This database combining CLASE and PERIODICA indexes over 2,600 scholarly journals published in the Spanish, Portuguese, French and English languages and contains more than 300,000 bibliographic citations. Includes information from articles, essays, book reviews, monographs, conference proceedings, technical reports, interviews and brief notes published in journals edited in 24 different countries of Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as from publications that focus on Pan-American issues.
CLASE indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities. PERIÓDICA covers journals specializing in science and technology.
1935--. Annual. Extensive, annotated bibliography including citations for slave trade and diaspora communities in Latin America.
The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook. Continuously published since 1936, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources.
Includes citations for articles on slave trade and diaspora communities in Latin America published since 1970.
Indexes worldwide information—from analyses of political, economic, and social issues to Latin American arts and letters—on Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border, and Hispanics in the United States.
Contains citations for articles and reviews on the history of slavery and the Diaspora communities appearing in 2,000 journals published worldwide, from 1954, covering world history since 1450 (except United States and Canada).
Historical Abstracts is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more - essential for libraries supporting upper-division and graduate research. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
(Description taken from EBSCO website.)
Resources on the History of Slavery and the Diaspora
This site, brought to you by York University in Canada, focuses on the history of the African diaspora and the movement of Africans to various parts of the world, particularly the Americas and the Islamic lands of North Africa and the Middle East.
The "Slave Route", is an Intercultural project administered, co-ordinated and monitored by the UNESCO Department of Intercultural Dialogue and Pluralism for a Culture of Peace. Launched by UNESCO in 1994, the Slave Route Project aims to study and understand the profound causes and modalities of the slave trade and to underline the interactions generated by it, in the Americas, West Indies and the Indian Ocean.
Documenting the American South is a collection of sources on Southern history, literature and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the 20th century. Contains over 1,264 books and manuscripts.
A collection of sources on Southern history, literature and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the 20th century. The 1,165 books and manuscripts come primarily from its Southern holdings of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.