Skip to main content

EndNote

A guide to EndNote citation management software.

General Instructions

You can import citations/references from the majority of the Library's databases into your EndNote library. For most databases, the process is simple.

  1. Search and mark/select the records you would like to import.
  2. Go to the marked/selected records section for the database.
  3. Select "Export" or "Save" (depending on the database).
  4. Select your EndNote library. For some databases, you may also have to select the database name from the Import Option menu.
  5. Your records should import automatically.

If a database does not have an option for export into EndNote, you may be able to import records using an RIS file.

  1. Search and mark/select the records you would like to import.
  2. Go to the marked/selected records section for the database.
  3. Select "Save" and save the file in the RIS (.ris) format.
  4. Open your EndNote library.
  5. Go to File/Import.  From the "Import Option" dropdown menu select the "Reference Manager (RIS)" option.
  6. Your records should import into your file.

If you still have problems importing records, please do not hesitate to Ask a Librarian.

Importing from PubMed

You can import records from PubMed using an import filter or by direct search using a connection file.

Using an Import Filter

  1. In PubMed, mark the records you want to import.
  2. From the "Send To" drop-down menu select "Citation manager".
  3. Click "Create File" and save the file (its default name is citations.nbib).
  4. In EndNote, go to File/Import.
  5. Browse to your saved file.
  6. Select the "PubMed (NLM)" Import Option.
  7. Click import.

Direct Search Using a Connection File

  1. In EndNote, go to Tools/Online Search.
  2. Choose "PubMed (NLM)".
  3. Enter your search terms and click "Search".
  4. Highlight the references that you wish to move to your EndNote library.
  5. Go to References/Copy References To and select the library.
  6. Your references will transfer to your library.

Importing From Google Scholar

Set your preferences in Google Scholar:

  1. From the Google Scholar search page, click on the Scholars Preferences link..
  2. Scroll down to the Bibliography Manager section.
  3. Select "Show Links to Import into" and select "EndNote" from the drop-down.
  4. Click Save Preferences.

Search and import records into EndNote:

  1. Conduct your search in Google Scholar
  2. Each record displayed will have an "Import into EndNote" link. Clicking on the link will launch the EndNote export.
  3. Select your EndNote library and your references should import automatically.