Skip to main content

Astronomy & Astrophysics

Books

Library Catalog for books in the Library's collection.

HathiTrust  indexes a collection of full-text books in the public domain. The books and journals are from the holdings of a number of academic libraries and were digitized under a variety of projects including Google Books, the Open Library, and others.

Google Books contains ebooks digitized from library collections or supplied directly by publishers. Searching is performed on the full-text of the entire corpus but the resulting texts will be displayed at varying levels depending on copyright restrictions.

The web sites listed below are major packages for science electronic books. Access to most titles in these packages is limited to the University of Chicago community.

Springer Electronic Books
Full text of most titles published from 2005 to present. [Access limited to U of C community]

Wiley Reference Works
Wiley InterScience's expanding collection of Reference Works deliver unimpeded access to multi-volume encyclopedias, handbooks and dictionaries within every category of scientific, technical and medical endeavor.

Subject Specialist

Barb Kern's picture
Barb Kern
Contact:
Co-Director, Science Libraries Division

Crerar Library Room 129

773-702-8717

Document Delivery Service

If the Library does not own a book you are interested in, you have several options.If we do own the book, but it is not available electronically, and you have identified set pages, you can use the Library's Scan & Deliver Service.

BorrowDirect - 4 business days, loan period 12 weeks, 10 major research libraries

UBorrow - one week, loan period 12 weeks, 13 major research libraries

Interlibrary loan - 8 days, loan period varies, research libraries around the world

Scan & Deliver - 4 business days, pdf scan, from material available in the Library, but not electronically


How to use BorrowDirect

How to use UBorrow

How to use Interlibrary loan

How to use Scan & Deliver