Skip to main content

Physics

A Guide to Physics Resources available at the University of Chicago Library

Databases

Database Finder
For a complete list of all databases provided by the Library, visit the Database Finder.
arXiv.org
"Open access to 615,861 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics."

INSPIRES HEP

"Search more than 400000 high-energy physics related articles, including journal papers, preprints, e-prints, technical reports......

ADS (Astrophysics Data System)
"The SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a Digital Library portal for researchers in Astronomy and Physics. The ADS maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 8.4 million records: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and arXiv e-prints."

Web of Science
 
"Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 10,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage available to 1900. Includes the Science Citation Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™."
 
Scopus 
"Scopus is an interdisciplinary, bibliographic database that indexes the contents of more than 15,000 journals in the physical sciences, engineering, earth and environmental sciences, life and health sciences, social sciences, psychology, business, and management. Scopus also features cited references and can be searched for articles that cite a specific article. For use with the Mac Papers application, you will need a Scopus ID. For details, please see: http://www.lib.uchicago.edu/e/db/maroon/scopus.html"

Journals

The Library has an extensive collection of journals, both electronic and in print.  If you cannot find a specific journal title, or you need assistance with your research, please contact me.

Document Delivery Service

If the Library does not own a journal / article that you are interested in please submit an interlibary loan.  If we do own the journal, but it is not available electronically, you can use the Library's Scan & Deliver Service.

Interlibrary loan - 8 days, loan period varies, research libraries around the world

Scan & Deliver - 4 business days, pdf scan, from material available in the Library, but not electronically


How to use Interlibrary loan

How to use Scan & Deliver

Contact Information

Jennifer Hart
Librarian for Mathematics, Statistics, Computer Science and Physics
Crerar Library Room 130
773-702-7569
Send Email

Off-campus Access

Almost all Library databases can be accessed from off-campus. The easiest way to do this is to use links from the Library website. You will then be prompted for your CNetID and password to authenticate yourself as an authorized user.

If you find sources through Google Scholar or other search engines, you may not automatically get access to Library resources. Use the ProxyIt bookmarklet in these situations. There's more information on our guide to off-campus access